We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greta location & good value for Sanibel & Myers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11281 Summerlin Square Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #15 of 46 hotels in Fort Myers Beach
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Greta location & good value for Sanibel & Myers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

First time in a Hampton and very impresed with what I found. Easy to get to from the airport using the directions given on the hotel website. Plenty of car parking spaces and large welcoming lobby. Allocated a corner room on the 4th floor which was great, large lounge/tv area and separate bedroom. Bathroom was adequete and fine, nothing special. Big fridge and kitchenette area was a welcome surprise but as on vacation did not use.

Beds were clean and comfortable but not sure I need a post it note stuck to the headboard telling me they were freshly washed for every guest ( I would expect it, wouldn't you) Breakfast was served in the lobby was pretty good and what you would expect, Lisa & her team kept everything topped up and there was a change of hot items on each of the 3 days I spent here. Free USA Today a bonus as is the free wifi. There were also 2 computers in the lobby for printing your boarding pass or checking your email which was good. Pool was a tad small but usable.

Great location for Ft Myers beach and Sanibel beaches and plenty of restaurants nearby - do try Pinchers (went twice, 2 for 1 on house wines !) and Doc Ford's Rum bar & grille which was also good but a bit more pricey. Large Publix on the otherside of the junction opposite Perkins. There are lots of mini golf courses in the area and you are not far from the Miramar Outlets. Overall very impressed with the hotel & the helpful staff. All very relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear UncleDom,

Wow! We are so glad you had such a tremendous stay with us. We take great pride in making sure our Hot Hampton Breakfast is the best in the hotel industry! I'm excited to hear you enjoyed all of the local cuisine (Pinchers Crab Shack is one of my favorite as well!). Thank you for taking the time to let the TripAdvior community know about your wonderful stay. Come back and stay with us the next time you travel to Fort Myers Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    127
    38
    19
    13
See reviews for
120
145
25
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Very very very good service from all staff

Heated pool
Clean and nice

Good breakfast and close to sanibel as well as fort Myers beach ....
Stayed here in November and enjoyed the hotel
Easy access and shops and restaurant nearby

Recommend

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear GlennaFak,

It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! Comments like this let the entire staff know that all of our hard work keep's paying off. We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Clean, and up-to-date, with a good breakfast (free), at $79 - a nice treat.

We were visiting the beach for the weekend, and rather than get a less than stellar gyp-joint on the beach, decided to try this sub-Hilton. It's only a mile or so to the beach.

Very worth while, and very satisfied with everything.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for such a great review! We're glad you gave Hampton Inn and Suites - Fort Myers Beach a chance and we hope that our staff, service and location made a memorable impression. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

On November 2, I stayed at the Hampton Inn and Suites in Fort Myers Beach. Though I was disappointed that it was over a six mile drive to the Gulf beaches, it was a nice family style hotel that offered free breakfast.
Located at the crossroads of Summerlin and San Carlos, Hampton Inn had clean rooms, and the employees were all very pleasant. Its location made it convenient to reach Estero beach (at the end of San Carlos) and Sanibel beach (six miles straight down Summerlin).
My bid for this room was higher than it should have been for off-season, but I was looking for something last minute.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Pam,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Fort Myers Beach, FL. While we are not directly on the beach, we are convienently located on the crossroads to Fort Myers Beach, Sanibel Island and Fort Myers. During the busy season (December-March) our guests find our hotel's location to be great because you don't have to sit in the heavy traffic that builds up on the beach. We hope to have you back when you return to Fort Myers Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokomo, Indiana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My family was in Fort Myers for a wedding. I booked 2 suites at the Hampton Inn on Summerlin Road. I called to make the reservations because I wanted the rooms to be adjacent or at least across the hall. The rooms were at the opposite ends of the same floor. If the person taking the reservation would have said they couldn’t accommodate my request, I may have understood, but no message to that effect was stated; somewhat disappointed. As for the hotel, it was fine. Not on a busy road so quiet from road noise. Staff was friendly getting us extra towels and wash clothes. The breakfast was good. They had a variety of things everyday: cereal, breads, bagel, waffles, juice, fresh fruit, and some hot foods like eggs and bacon etc. The pool area was small, but clean. Check out was easy and without incident. They did miss my last name so I had to go to the office to find out why I could not connect to the free WiFi. Again, not a deal breaker, but an inconvenience. I would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: We had two suites. The rooms are nice for multiple people with two TVs if you have children or vari...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Bob,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our Hot Hampton Breakfast. We would love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stay at this hotel for business and they always recognize me and welcome me back. The front desk staff is excellent, very friendly and they go above and beyond to satisfy their customers. The hotel is clean. comfortable and relaxing. The breakfast staff is friendly and hospitable. I look forward to staying at this hotel for my furure visits.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for such a great review. We look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard County, FL
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Spent two nights recently and due to Diamond status, we were upgraded to a 2 room suite. It was very nice and had all the amenities for an enjoyable stay, including a kitchen to make you feel right at home. The staff was dedicated to making sure that the customer was satisified and, due to that policy, we were not charged for our second night since our room had not been made up when we returned at 9:30 pm. When we asked for fresh towels and were brought fresh bed linens instead, the staffer got a bit annoyed (probably not with us, but the attitude was evident) when he had to make another trip for the towels. We also had an ant problem on the first night (ants on the kitchen table). Front desk said they would send someone right up to take care of it but no one ever showed. We had to ask again the next morning and were promptly given service at that time. No explanation as to why no one came the night before. Breakfast was typical Hampton fare, ample and very good but nothing stood out as exceptional. More than adequate seating in the lobby and breakfast area. Facilities here are very nice. Although small and not enough seating in my opinion, the pool area was still quite enjoyable. No hot tub that we saw. It was not crowded at the time of our visit so it was relatively quiet. Hotel is close to lots of restaurants, the Tanger Outlets and of course, to Sanibel Island. Even though we had some problems during our stay, we would definitely stay there again for it's value and location.

Room Tip: If you want room to spread out a little, spring for a suite...worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Tripsahoy16,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay. We take great pride in our customer's satisfaction and this will only help us to improve our guest experience. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay and we will make sure that our service is what you expect it to be each time you're here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway

Address: 11281 Summerlin Square Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally lcoated to the area's finest beaches of Fort Myers and Sanibel-Captiva Islands. Start your day with our complimentary Hot Hampton Breakfast Buffet before heading out to some of Florida's best golf courses, shopping, and deep sea fishing. Boston Redsox and Minnesota Twins Spring Training venues are a short drive away. Or you may choose to take swim or catch some sun out at our heated tropical style pool. Our deluxe Cloud-Nine bedding will ensure great nights rest so you are ready to explore or kayak our unspoiled coastlines and mangroves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Summerlin Road Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Hampton Inn And Suites Fort Myers Beach / Summerlin Road
Hampton Inn Fort Myers
Fort Myers Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.