We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome shark adventure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Charters

Paradise Charters
4765 Estero Blvd., (Behind Publix Grocery Store), Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
+1 239-247-8288
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Paradise Charters would like to welcome you aboard our 2014 Tidewater. We offer backwater fishing, nearshore and offshore. We also have dolphin tours, sightseeing, shelling and sunset tours. We can specialize any trip to meet your needs. It is our goal at Paradise Charters to make sure you have a safe, fun and memorable time. We sail out of the beautiful Snook Bight Marina that is behind the Publix grocery store which is mid island. From beginners to pros, let's go!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Bothell, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome shark adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Captain Shawn provided a very memorable and fun fishing experience. We left from Snook Bight Marina around 8 am but hit rough weather as we headed out into the gulf. We hurried back to the Back Bay for some respite and luckily the weather cleared and we were able to head back out to our spot. Captain Shawn was very knowledgeable and explained why the fishing was so good at this time of the month, and how the water movement meant we should have a good day on the water. Just as Captain Shawn predicted, it wasn't 15 minutes into our trip I had a shark on the end of my line. Captain Shawn provided excellent instruction and made sure our shark adventure was awesome. He made sure our lines were in the water at all times and explained the how's and why's of fishing for such an awesome species. We ended up landing seven sharks in all during our half-day trip and came back with a cooler full of shark meat that we ended up grilling. It was delicious. Shawn even shared some recipes with us. We definitely will be coming back for more. We highly recommend Captain Shawn and Paradise Charters.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
“Caught fish for dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Our group of five (four adults and one 5 year old) recently returned from a bay fishing charter with a handful of sea trout.

We booked Paradise Charters about a month in advance. On the day of the tour, we paid in cash. From the moment we met Captain Shawn, he was professional, polite and friendly. His concerns are safety AND enjoyment. Our son was fitted into a type 1 life jacket, for example. Some in our group grew up fishing, but others did not. So, Captain Shawn baited (using artificial bait) and cast when necessary. He offered tips, too. Everyone could fish at the same time. He took us to various fishing hot spots around Ft. Myers and Sanibel. A shark and a dolphin inspected our boat during one stop. It was amazing to see a wild dolphin so close! The bull shark we saw was approximately 6 feet long.

He has so thoughtful, patient, and kind with our 5 year old (who was a bit cranky at the beginning of the tour). He let my son throw back the trout that didn’t make the cut and nicknamed my son ‘1st mate.’ We found the boat new and comfortable and Captain Shawn’s expertise top-notch. At the end of the day, we kept 3 sea trout which Captain Shawn quickly filleted and put in Ziploc bags. He even gave us ice. He offered us suggestions for cooking it (ingredients located at the Public next door to the marina). We used those suggestions and had an amazing meal the next night! He’s a foodie and even gave us suggestions for local restaurants. Overall, it was one of the highlights of our week in Ft. Myers! Next time we go back to Ft. Myers, we will be fishing with Paradise again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“BEST DAY FISHING EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I had a wonderful day fishing with Captain Shawn. I am part of a fishing club back home in WI and I caught more fish in one outing than I have ever caught! Even caught a shark! I caught over 25 fish, 8 different species. It really was amazing! Captain Shawn & his wife are wonderful people, very knowledgeable and really get you on fish! I would and have already recommend them! Can't wait to come back and do it again! THANK YOU CAPTAIN SHAWN FOR BEING SUCH A GRACIOUS HOST AND SHARING YOUR KNOWLEDGE!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great shark trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

A few members from our fishing club went out with Captain Shawn for shark. We caught our limit within the first 45 minutes of our trip and the action never stopped. Captain Shawn's knowledge of the local waters and area is uncompromised. We plan to go out again as soon as possible. Book a trip before sharks are gone!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Hood, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Trip Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

This was my first time fishing from a boat in the Ocean and it turned out to be the best trip I have ever had. CPT Shawn was an awesome guide and knew where to put us in order to catch fish. We caught several large sea trout, a huge lemon shark (that I wrangled for 2 1/2 hours) and several black tip sharks. What an experience! If you are in the area and want to take the best fishing trip ever, look no further than Paradise Charters. Thanks CPT Shawn for making this a fishing trip to remember and look forward to seeing you next year.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradise Charters also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Paradise Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.