We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip for all.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Surf and Us South Shore Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Myers Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Surf and Us South Shore Resort
Save
You added The Surf and Us South Shore Resort to your Saves list
3870 Estero Boulevard, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel amenities
Eagle River, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Trip for all.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We decided to go to Florida..even though I thought it was all swamps and alligators... After a friend convinced us to go..we flew our daughter down for her 21st also...all I can say is BOOKED for next year!!!! NO swamps,alligators, cockroaches,bugs nor any other "icky" creepier Crowley things..Just GREAT CLEAN accommodations..a sea shells throw from the Gulf!!! We had awesome surf fishing also..the managers helped us get our license and a boat. Also set us up with scooters to hang out on the island and a few parks to hit! Awesome Managers/Tour Guides.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed for a week and it was very nice. Room had everything we needed and was clean, the full kitchen was great. We enjoyed freshly caught shrimp from a local shop on the grill, we even cought a trout right in front of the resort that we also threw on the grill. The resort is in walking distance of just about everything and the bus stop is 50 yards away. One big bonus is the sand bar that gets exposed at low tide right in front of the resort, you can see all sorts of shells and sand dollars. Dolphins fed right in front of the resort almost daily, one day they were within 5 feet of us chasing fish, it was very cool to see. The sunsets are picture perfect and worth the price alone.

We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: The view from the upper units in a bit better than the lower rooms, but you won't be in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were married right at the Surf and Us Resort, along with a number of family members in December 2012. Everyone stayed at the resort, and everything turned out beautiful. Heidi and Bruiser were absolutely wonderful in making sure everything went off without a hitch. The beauty of the resort speaks for itself. I would highly recommend Surf and Us to anyone for a wedding, or just for a vacation. We can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Arrived in sunny Fort Meyers beach in Dec of 2012 for my nephew's wedding at Surf & Us Resort. What a great place to stay. The resort is right on the beach so it is paradise right in the back yard with awesome sunsets. Brusier and Heidi are the perfect hosts. Anything you need they are there for you! Our room was nice and clean. If you like to fish you have the whole ocean right out back. Good fish to be caught and to eat! Thank you Bruiser and Heidi. See you in April!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Returned to the Surf & Us for another weekend stay! Once again the weather was perfect. My room was on the lower floor, 6 inches from the sand. Once again clean, comfortable and freshly painted. Heidi & Bruiser were wonderful! Cheers to the Surf & Us!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I was there last week for my brother's wedding and it was beautiful! Heidi and Bruiser are wonderful and very friendly. You will literally be swimming with the dolphins. It was such a joy and wonderful vacation I can't wait to go back and stay there again!

Room Tip: Any ocean view room will be wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Rica, null, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Truly enjoyed our stay there over the first weekend of Nov. Wonderful view of the Gulf from less than 100 feet away, while having plenty of room to spread out inside the big open living room area. The structure and fixtures are a little older than your super high rise condos, however the place is clean and very comfortable! Highly recommend to anyone who wants the peace and quiet
of a quaint affordable place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Surf and Us South Shore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surf and Us South Shore Resort

Address: 3870 Estero Boulevard, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf and Us is a 5-unit beach front resort located directly on Gulf of Mexico in Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Resort offers guests clean and comfortable accommodations, semi-private beach area, private parking lot, covered pavilion, white sandy beaches, and the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Surf And Us South Shore Hotel Fort Myers Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Surf and Us South Shore Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.