We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great appartment hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour House at the Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour House at the Inn to your Saves list
Harbour House at the Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Old San Carlos Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Dorchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great appartment hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This hotel was really well located just a couple of blocks from the square and pier in Fort Myers Beach. We had a 2 bedroom apartment which was very well equipped.

The pool is nice, and very warm.

Despite being right next to the bridge on to the island we did not find it at all noisy.

The price, for the location, was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHInnkeeper, Manager at Harbour House at the Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank You for the good review. Please keep us in mind for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    13
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
26
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

My husband & I stayed at Harbour House in January 2014 with another couple. The location was great, but the stay left a lot to be desired. We didn't arrive until after 3 pm, as we had just flown in that day. We ended up having to take up residency in the little kitchenette by the pool, until our room was ready (there was another young German couple in the same room, for the same reason). We were not allowed into our room until after 6 PM! My husband and I were both having to work remotely that day, and needless to say, a public area near a pool is not the best location for making business calls.
The male at the front desk was anything but apologetic, throughout our stay. The room was very clean when we finally got in. My husband & I had the second bedroom, which was very small. The only window in the room looked out to a public walkway with a wall on the other side, and people walked by night & day, so we had to keep the blinds pulled constantly. The blinds were so thin, we had to use an extra mattress pad at night to cover the window & keep out the light that was on 24 hrs a day, right outside the window.
I asked for contact information for the condo owners, so I could let them know how poorly our situation was handled (I would want to know if I was paying a property management company to rent my condo). But the desk clerk said our only contact was the hotel manager & pointed at her card on the desk. I wrote her an email, after we got home, but have had no response.
All in all, it wasn't the worst trip I've ever had, but I will not stay at Harbour House again, nor recommend it to my friends/family.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHInnkeeper, Manager at Harbour House at the Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
I am so sorry about your experience. Normal check-in time is 4 pm. Unfortunately there have been times when guests aren't able to get in until later. At that time we had an extremely busy schedule with a lot of check outs and arrivals. Ours housekeeping staff does the best they can to get guests into their room as early as possible. As far as the front desk staff is concerned I will make sure to show them this post and go over better ways to handle these situations. Unfortunately I never recieved your email. I am in the office Monday through Friday from 8 AM to 4 PM. If you would like to discuss this any further please give me a call at 239-463-0700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The location of Harbour House at the Inn was perfect for our vacation which included my two adult daughters and infant grandchild. We were within close walking distance to the beach, several casual restaurants, coffee shop, ice cream shop and quick exit onto the San Carlos bridge. The apt was very well equipped in the kitchen, the rooms were comfortable, the building was clean, the pool area well tended to and the staff extremely helpful. The building was full, but the cleaning staff was very thorough in their attention to cleaning and general tidiness. Covered parking was always available. Thank you for a caring and attentive staff throughout our vacation. Looking forward to our visit next year. B. Barton

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHInnkeeper, Manager at Harbour House at the Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
We are very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your vacation and your stay with us at Harbour House at the Inn. I will make sure to pass on the good word to all of our staff and tell them to keep up the good work! Please keep us in mind for your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Had looked forward to spending a few days at Harbour House after touring it a couple of years ago. Sadly were very disappointed. Rooms already showing wear, beds lumpy and if you manage to sleep through your neighbors coming in at various times of the evening the garbage trucks will for sure get you up in the morning. Absolutely no soundproofing. Spacious and still like the convenient location but pack your ear plugs.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHInnkeeper, Manager at Harbour House at the Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
I am truly sorry that you weren't able to enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately we are located in what is considered to be the downtown baywalk district and this time of the year is our busy season. Last summer we replaced every bed on the property and this summer we will be replacing the flooring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed in a king suite, it was like having our own little apartment, the bedroom was clean, bright, with a comfortable bed and flat screen TV. We also had a second TV in the living area. We were on the 3rd floor and had our own little balcony with a great view overlooking the Marina. The pool was just outside our front door, it seemed nice, lot's of kids so we didn't spend too much time there, noise wasn't a problem. The location can't be beat, it was within a block of all the action in Time Square and the Fort Myes Beach Pier, with numerouse restaurants to choose from, and lot's to see and do. We had the Marina and "Nervous Nelly's" right next door, we were a little worried about the noise coming from next door but we really didn't hear much of anything after 10 pm. My only complaint would be that they do not always provide the services listed on thier web site, they claim to have coffee and that the main office is open at a certain time but that is not always the case. If it wasn't for the lack of customer service I would have given them and excellent rating.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHInnkeeper, Manager at Harbour House at the Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are a condominium hotel that is only open from 8 AM to 10 PM. However, there is a phone number posted should our guests have any issues after hours. We provide coffee in our community room starting at 8:15 every morning. I apologize for any misunderstandings and will make sure to speak with the staff about ways we can make our guests stay as enjoyable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

The perfect location is everything for this so called hotel. But it should not be called a hotel with staff that don't understand what service and customer care is all about.

We had been walking all day at the beach an used the pool and hot tub afterwards. After only ten minutes in the bath we feelt that something was wrong when the skin started itching. We went up to the room for a quick shower. Then all hair on our legs was gone... Next morning we also found that our swimwear was bleeched. So we contacted the hotel manager and asked her to investigate the hot tub and stop other people from using it. She promised us to look into it directly. When we came back in the evening it was still a chlorine smell from the hot tub and no sign to warn people from using the hot tub. We went down to the reception again and ask them why nothing was done regarding this issue. After a lot of arguing the reception finally understood the health risk and closed the pool area.

Next day the manager only sad that she did not think it was that big deal. We showed her our bleached legs and swimwear and no response except that they had to call the pool guy. Other families with kids had used the pool area the same day we made the complaint. And all had the same sympthoms with hair loss and bleached legs and swimwear. Lucky that no one was seriously injured.

We got no compensation when we checked out, not even an apology.

This hotel should not be allowed to have a pool area for customers without regular check and quality assurance.

The cleaning staff is un-friendly and even if the promise cleaning three times a week we got it only once a week (stayed for 3-weeks).

If you still want to stay at the hotel I can recommend you to stay away from the rooms towards the restaurant Nervouse Nelly. The kitchen fans was loudly on all day and night with a great fry-smell. You will also get the chance to see the mens restroom in action if you are (un)-lucky.

We will never come back to Harbour house. We love Fort Myers Beach very much and its a great place to stay at when visiting South West Florida. Have to find another place to stay at...

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We love the Harbour House! My husband and I were married here in Ft. Myers and had our entire wedding party and guests stay here in 2010. We came back last month after 2 years and had an amazing experience. Our room was quaint and immaculate. Love the family suite. The front desk is always accommodating and helped us right away with our daughters crib. The pool is great and the hottub is clean and always hot enough. We've stayed in many hotels on Ft. Myers beach but will always go back to Harbour House because we can walk everywhere and is so easy with our daughter/stroller etc. and future children :) We also enjoyed walking across the street to the Christmas Boat Parade and entertainment. Can't wait to go back, thank you Harbour House!

Room Tip: 2 Bed/1 bath was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour House at the Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House at the Inn

Address: 450 Old San Carlos Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour House at the Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour House at the Inn offers concierge customer service with thirty-four individually owned condominium suites just steps away from the beach. We offer boat dockage and bay access right in the heart of the Historic Baywalk District and beach resort area! The all new condominium hotel suites are exquisite and offer all amenities you may need. Whether you're here for relaxation, a fishing getaway or a fun-filled family beach vacation, you will find it here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Harbour House at the Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour House At The Hotel Fort Myers Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour House at the Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.