We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fish Monger

The Fish Monger
19030 San Carlos Blvd., Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
+1 239-765-5544
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Full service casual dining experience. Full Liquor License. Early Bird Menu, Tavern Menu, Dinner Menu. We own our own boats so you will not find fresher fish in Ft. Myers. We also have many Beef-Chicken and Pasta dishes as well as a children's menu. Large parties welcome. Dive In and Dine Fresh!!
Woodstock, Virginia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Steak!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The steak in a fish house wouldn't be one's first choice. The steak here is the exception, to put it mildly. The steak was wet aged for 30 days and, just like last year's, was outstanding. Thought ya'll should know!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    64
    30
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good for fresh fish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

All the locals told us this is where we had to eat for fresh fish. I didn't care for the shrimp but I'm not a huge fish person. It was my moms birthday and they saw I didn't eat my shrimp and we had to wait a little longer then we'd have liked. We didn't say a word about it but they still sent all four of us a piece of Key Lime Cheesecake. Very kind of them.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
“ONE OF THE BEST PLACE CLOSE TO THE BEACH”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great fresh sea food and good price
Fast and efficient waiter with a special congrat to Kathy Hollywood.
The table around the bar are my favorite place.
It's a perfect restaurant for a diner in couples, with friend or family.
I went two times in this place and the quality is always perfect and I'll be back ASAP with my family.
I'll recommande the soup served with warm all bread with butter and the quesadilla

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Fresh Seafood Around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Love this family-owned restaurant! They even have their own docks so you know the fish is fresh every day. Awesome grouper, great drinks and my kids love all the aquariums.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Eat fish while they watch you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

What a step back in time to go to the Fish Monger, starting with the large fish plaques on the outside of the restaurant. As you step inside, you are greeted first by a large display of the catch of the day cozily nestled in a bed of ice cubes. Be sure to ask to be seated in the large dining room which is surrounded by aquariums - situated so that each table has its own. Yes, you eat fish while fish watch you - good thing they only have a three second attention span!! Our waiter both times we dined was John, who was very attentive, making suggestions on dinner items. I was on a quest to find the best coconut shrimp on our Florida trip and I found it here. You will not be disappointed dining here in the casual atmosphere.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish Monger also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Fish Monger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fish Monger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.