We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Sunset Cruise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Myers Princess

Fort Myers Princess
645 Old San Carlos Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33913
239-765-8500
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The 75ft Fort Myers Princess, offers the utmost in comfort and style for up to 140 passengers. The vessel features an air-conditioned lower salon, enclosed in picture windows, as well as an upper deck where you may take in the fresh gulf breeze with an awning to protect you from direct sunlight and light seasonal showers. Don't forget to purchase your favorite frozen drink,cocktail or light snack from our full cash bar as you enjoy our dolphin or Sunset Cruise
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Pigeon Lake, ON
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Sunset Cruise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We (12 friends) took the sunset cruise on the FMP this evening and we all had a fantastic time. The boat was clean and well equiped. The staff were friendly especially Todd and Cathy. It was quite cloudy and we didn't really expect to see the sunset but Capt Gene cruised around offshore from the Sanibel Lighthouse and the sun finally peeked below the clouds behind the lighthouse. On the way back to Fort Myers we had a great time dancing on the upper deck. Would happily take this cruise again. Exceeded our expectations!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    25
    12
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ft myers
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

First thing that did not happen was that we [the passengers] were NEVER told where the life preservers were located. The second thing was that we NEVER saw a sunset!!! For some unexplained reason,the Captain[and I use this term not out of respect[ kept the boat positioned behind Sanibel and the lighthouse.This action prevented any viewing of the sunset.Third wasthat on the way back to the dock,he was more interested in being the Disc Jocky and not the Captain.The person piloting the boat was a woman Cathy who was selling tickets and handling dock lines prior to departure.I just wonder if she held proper credentials to transport passengers.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tweetySWfla, Captain at Fort Myers Princess, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
I am sorry you didn't enjoy your Sunset Cruise. As the Captain I always make a safety announcements as we start sailing under the Matanzas Bridge. During this time I also mentions details about the cruise,bar, bathroom, smoking etc. .I can understand how you didn't hear it.

Please understand depending on the time of the season the Sunset at different angles depending on the times of the season. It only sets over the Gulf Water several weeks per years. Please review the pictures of Sunset. They are postcard pictures from what we been told .....

" For some unexplained reason,the Captain[and I use this term not out of respect[ kept the boat positioned behind Sanibel and the lighthouse."
This personal attacked is not warranted ....

All crew member are trained and we run monthly drill .Just last year we saved a person drowning off Matanzas Pass which was featured on local news. There is video online from a person on the beach showing how professional my screw performed... All crew member on any boat should know how to operate the vessel they work on just in case needed in times of emergency ......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
141 attraction reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Beautiful Evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We took the sunset cruise on the Princess. Captain Gene and his staff were wonderful. They were all very friendly and accommodating. The boat had a well-stocked bar and the bartender (Todd) made fresh popcorn. The restrooms are notably nice. The views from the boat were fantastic. We saw a few dolphins and a lovely sunset! The prices were very reasonable. Had a great time - perfect evening!! Thank you!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great trip - will definitely go again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We recently visited Fort Myers and had tickets for the afternoon Dolphin Cruise. Unfortunately we did not know ahead of time that it would take over an hour to get over the bridge onto Fort Myers Beach so we missed the boat - literally. Fort Myers Princess staff was fantastic and got us onto the Sunset Cruise. Absolutely beautiful!! As an added bonus the dolphins were "working overtime" so we were able to see some of them as well. We will absolutely plan to join Captain Gene the next time we're in Fort Myers! This time we'll be prepared for the travel time :) Thanks so much!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
“HIghly disappointing!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

All of the kids were bored, the kids recognized right away that the "santa" was also the man that had made them balloon animals only minutes before. They advertised for families, yet the Christmas music was very old-fashioned. I didn't even know most of the songs. We all wanted to go to sleep! They advertised a gift from santa for the children, they were little rubber snowmen and santas (probably a pack of 12 for a dollar at the Dollar Tree). When santa pulled one of the "toy snowmen" out of his bag it was missing its head, imagine my 4 year olds terror. Waste of time & $160.00!! We will NEVER use this company again!
We had been on a dolphin tour with a different company and LOVED it!!! The dolphins actually swam behind our boat and jumped, the kids got to drive the boat, it was well worth the money! Kids are still talking about that tour today!!!!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Myers Princess also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Fort Myers Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Myers Princess, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fort Myers Princess to your Saves list