We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly quick food service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smokin' Oyster Brewery

Smokin' Oyster Brewery
340 Old San Carlos Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-2146
239-463-3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Amazingly quick food service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We arrived late on a Sunday evening with 8 minutes to order food and were surprised how quickly it came out. It was not bad for bar food. Seemed to have a fun atmosphere but since it was late, we were a bit tired from a long travel day. Getting a glass of water in addition to our meals and cocktails took three requests but they finally arrived. Our driver recommended the place and we would definitely go there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    195
    56
    24
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“one of our favorite places in fort myers beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

SOB is one of the best establishments at Fort Myers Beach. The bartenders and patrons are friendly and it is an easy going place to kick back and have a cold beer or enjoy some wonderful food. We have had oysters on the half shell, oysters Rockefeller, oyster and shrimp poor boys, salads and everything has been incredible. they have live entertainment at night which is a lot of fun also. we love the open air atmosphere and it is a "must go to " each year when we are in Fort Myers

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“That SOB Will See Us Again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Great beer selection and a good brew of their own, good appetizers, fun atmosphere and good oyster shooters

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

SOB was our favorite part of our entire trip to the area! Everyone was friendly and the atmosphere was fun! We went on our first night after talking with the locals at the hotel and loved it so much we went back again on our last night! We had the garlic crab both times! It's amazing. Hands down one of the best things I've eve eaten. Just get it! We also had peel and eat shrimp that was to die for! Definitely fresh! And the fried oyster appetizer. Yum!!!!! I absolutely loved everything about this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Pink Gulf Shrimp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I help out at the"Roxie", the cute Chamber of Commerce mobile info center, which is right next door to SOB's, and I treat myself to lunch at one of the restaurants whenever I'm working. Well, today it was SOB's and man oh man, their Coconut Shrimp is one of the best I've ever had. And, their Aioli Shrimp is incredible, too. My favorite is to dip the coconut shrimp in the in the sweet/spicy sauce that comes with, and also dip in to the aioli sauce. OMG.... so, so good. (No problem asking them for a side of the aioli sauce.)

SOB's looks like an average corner beach bar, but don't let it fool you. We locals know just how good the food is. Plus, the staff is friendly and takes the time to greet everyone with a big smile.

I would have to say they have the biggest selection of fresh seafood on the island, including things you just don't find in other restaurants...like Prince Edward Island Mussels in a white wine sauce and slap your mama fantabulous Garlic Dungeness crab. And, if you catch it, they will cook it! Decently priced kid's menu, too.

Easy, relaxing, casual and a great spot to people watch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokin' Oyster Brewery also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Smokin' Oyster Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smokin' Oyster Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.