We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great oysters” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smokin' Oyster Brewery

Smokin' Oyster Brewery
340 Old San Carlos Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-2146
239-463-3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Sandwiches, Barbecue, Delicatessen, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Takeout
Virginia_MN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I never cared for oysters before but my son-in-law talked me in to trying tem and now we always stop for a beer and raw oysters!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    558
    273
    73
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Olmsted, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Garlic Crab Clusters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We go to Fort Myers Beach every year, and always try one new restaurant that we have not been too. This time it was the Smokin' Oyster Brewery aka (S.O.B.). I think the name fools a lot of people and they think it is just an oyster place. Not the case. First let me describe the place, it is nothing fancy, it is pretty much an open air bar and restaurant, right down the street from the town square by the beach and by all the shops. It is not very big at all, and from what I could tell it is the 'locals' hangout. That is usually a good sign when the locals frequent the bar. I looked on-line for a local place for crab and this name popped up about their Garlic Crab clusters. So off we went to explore. At first sight we thought, hmmm, maybe we should find some other place but decided to just go for it. We found a high table that overlooked the street and shops and had a very good waiter, sorry to say I forgot his name, but he definitely recommended the crab clusters because that is what everyone comes in for.We ordered the 2 clusters instead of the four and shared some delicious scallops. The two clusters were more than enough. And when the waiter brought out two bibs, I was curious. He said they are very messy and by the time we get done peeling them and opening up them we will be covered with garlic butter sauce that they are floating in a bowl of chopped garlic and butter. Needless to say they were fantastic and yes very messy. So, with that being said, if you want a fancy place or are a little prissy about getting your fingers all garlic buttered up than this place probably would not be for you. For us, we thought it was a little hidden secret and definitely will visit on next years trip!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great fish dip, mesquite grouper, nice front corner table, dog friendly, open air, plus great service from Jason made for a very nice afternoon. Count us every time we are in Ft. Myers Beach.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“7 Days on Vacation and this was our BEST meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

the food and the service was all great! Small place...open air...live music and the best food we had across Fort Myers Beach and Key West. Alligator tail, fried oysters, scallops and grouper! Sandy our server was great!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food and Fun Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Ate at SOB's with my girlfriends - during our 50th year celebration. We had great food and enjoyed sitting outside. Our waitress (Deb, I think) was a lot of fun.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokin' Oyster Brewery also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Smokin' Oyster Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smokin' Oyster Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.