We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome atmosphere!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille

Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille
708 Fishermans Wharf, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
239-765-9660
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Oyster Bar, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Family-friendly waterfront dining with affordable pricing. Featuring fresh seafood daily and full bar with our famous Island Mojitos. Indoor and outdoor seating available. Sports Bar and Live Entertainment. Arrive by car or boat. Doc Ford’s Rum Bar and Grille may have originated on Sanibel Island, but be sure to check out this newest location on Fort Myers Beach!
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We loved this place, I went a little out of my comfort zone an had a good dinner. Best crab cakes ever! Awesome service, live bad outside at the bar and awesome view. They also have tons of drinks to choose from.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    519
    342
    106
    43
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“atsmosphere good, food ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

From this Bostonian's view,while the chowder (clam) was disappointing, with way too much flour, too many potatoes and hardly any clams, (even the waitress said it was below standard, yet she didn't take it off the bill) the Mussels were excellent. I had those for my meal. Nice atmosphere, we ate on the deck overlooking the harbor. We called for reservations and she asked us all kinds of questions re: seating (away from the band, near the band, outside, inside, etc.) and our table was ready exactly when we got there. Glad we did make reservations as there was quite a crowd and wait. Difficult to find the parking, but we figured it out. Ok service.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fun Florida eating with a great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Doc Ford's is a regular stop for us while we winter in Florida. Their daily specials are just that, "special". Have had some great fish entrees. For a lighter meal, can't beat the flatbread special every day, great clam chowder. The waitstaff is young and energetic, and atmosphere is pure Florida - come in shorts and tees, music on the lower deck really gets rockin. Great view, lots of pelicans, always boat traffic - a fun spot for a casual meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana, Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We loved the ambiance, the food and the service. Upon reading the history of the restaurant, my husband actually went home and got hooked on all the Doc Ford books and has read every one of them since our visit!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise Beach, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We really enjoyed this place. The food was excellent, along with a great atmosphere. We loved the view and location. Would highly recommend this Bar and Grille to anyone going to Fort Myers Beach.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.