We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille

Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille
708 Fishermans Wharf, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
239-765-9660
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Oyster Bar, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Family-friendly waterfront dining with affordable pricing. Featuring fresh seafood daily and full bar with our famous Island Mojitos. Indoor and outdoor seating available. Sports Bar and Live Entertainment. Arrive by car or boat. Doc Ford’s Rum Bar and Grille may have originated on Sanibel Island, but be sure to check out this newest location on Fort Myers Beach!
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We ate here our first night in Ft Myers Beach! They had excellent food and great service! We sat outside with heated lamps to keep us warm on a chilly night.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    620
    388
    123
    45
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“fun place - great menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is a great casual restaurant themed after the Doc Ford character in Randy Wayne White' novel series that take place in Southwest Florida. The menu is imaginative with fresh seafood and a Caribbean twist. Plus if you like the author and the books there is a great little store to buy the books and/or a t-shirt or two! WE had the grouper sandwich - always a winner - and a tropical mango mahi. Both were delicious and very reasonably priced.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We ate at Doc Fords for the first time. The place is large but it does gets full. Food was very good. Some items do have a spicy kick. Prices are reasonable. We ate outside where there is a nice view of the bay. We would go here again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Doc Ford's is a fun and tasty place. With views of the marina and very good food it is a place we'll return to time after time. It is a litte hard get to if you are unfamiliar with the area and the traffic can be bad during tourist season but that doesn't stop us. :)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ocean city
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really Good Food and Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is my second trip to Doc Fords but my first time actually having an entree. I stopped in in Oct and had a beer and some fish Tacos which were as good as any and better than many. On this trip we actually tried the house Mahi with Jasmine rice and stir fried veggies. Outstanding is all I can say. The place is cool and mostly an outside bar right on the marina. If your looking to soak up a change of latitude its a great spot. It is on the east side of the bridge so it is not exactly in Fort Myers Beach, never the less it was well worth the money and the server was adequate and competent. they have live music several nights too which is what brought us in tonight. Definatley worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.