We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lovers Key State Park

Lovers Key State Park
8700 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
239 463 4588
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Parks, State Parks, Food & Drink
Activities: Sunbathing, Birdwatching, Hiking, Swimming, Canoeing, Kayaking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You can swim, fish, bird-watch, hike, canoe or kayak at this park covering 712 acres over four islands.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

It is really nice the state of Florida preserved this barrier island as a state park. Not many barrier islands in the area are still in their natural state as most have been developed. Great beaches and clean gulf waters make swimming and shelling very enjoyable.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    177
    35
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Don't miss Lover's Key State Park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

One of the newest state parks in Florida, Lover's Key is a wonderful spot for birding and shelling. And if you're in the area for any length of time, make sure to check out the schedule of interpretive programs. They had a two-hour photographic/nature walk (thanks, Pam - you're awesome!), free with your entrance to the park. We also went on a kayak tour of the estuary - also free, if you have your own kayak - which was relaxing and a great opportunity to see the shorebirds up close. Saw lots of ospreys, egrets, herons, and a couple of dolphins and manatees. Went on a walk to the central pond, where several small alligators floated serenely through the marsh. And the shelling was terrific - we found a great selection of shells out on the sandbar, and saw lots of pelicans, gulls, terns, and black skimmers. Wish we had had more time to visit on more days. Wonderful.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, North Carolina
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful but def bring umbrella”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We went to the main entrance ($8 per car) and the N. entrance ($2pp w/ 6yr &under free?). We enjoyed the N. entrance more as you could fish at the bridge and walk to the peninsula. Shells and view at this area were amazing. No bathrooms though.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A gem just over the bridge from Ft Myers Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We took out kayaks for the 2.5 mile (one way) paddle. The fees were reasonable, the sit on top kayaks were stable and in good repair. The seat, paddle and life jacket were all included in the rental as well. There are opportunities to venture out into the bay, but we did not. At about the 1.25-1.5 mile mark on the out ward leg, we met two manatees, the high light of the paddle. We saw vultures, osprey and several other birds here and there. We went to to beach after the paddle. The wind was up and the waves a bit strong, but it was so warm, who really cares. This was only one spot on the Key to explore. Spend a day here, you will not be sorry.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Transportation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Make sure to make this trek in rental car, scooter, ect. A lot of walking in hot weather otherwise will take away from the experience

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lovers Key State Park also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Lovers Key State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lovers Key State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.