We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shells” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lovers Key State Park

Lovers Key State Park
8700 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
+1 239-463-4588
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Sunbathing, Birdwatching, Hiking, Swimming, Canoeing, Kayaking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Park is not associated with Bonita Springs Dog Beach. Enjoy swimming, sunbathing, shelling, fishing, hiking, bicycling, wildlife watching, canoeing/kayaking, geocaching and more. For more information about the park, rentals and programs please visit park website.
Camp hill
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Shells”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went early morning and the beach was deserted. Great place for collecting shells. Not large shells but different varieties. Check out the billboard to see all the different types of shells you can find. You can walk for miles. You can also rent kayaks and bikes at the park and there are a lot of trails. You may want to have bug spray if you are walking trails.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    573
    217
    45
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A bit of a drive, but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Take the trolley to Lovers Key or drive your car. You won't be disappointed. One of the few places we have found sea urchins, star fish and sand dollars. Its away from the hustle and bustle and reminds me of old Florida

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campton, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“So beautiful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I was staying at Estero Beach & Tennis Club at the south end of the island and I explored Lovers Key one morning because I'd heard what a gem it was. There is an admission price per car- I think it was $5 and there is a tram that drives you to the beach if you dont want to walk from the parking lot. The white sand beach is fabulous! You can rent cushioned lounge chairs or tote your own chairs/ coolers, etc. There is a interactive visitor service area. There were quite a few boaters on the sand bar areas- looks to be a very popular spot for boats to gather. Also- canals for kayaking and trails for biking.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pristine Gulf Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Undeveloped, pristine beach on the Gulf of Mexico. Soooo beautiful. Not only is the beach on the Gulf amazing, there are walking trails through the 'keys' of this State Park. We saw turtles, sea and wading birds, and manatees. Next time, we will rent kayaks and paddle the kayak trail!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“You will find a spot alone on the beach even during high seson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I can see why it's called Lovers Key a walk from the parking, or they have a tram to take you there but it's a pretty walk (unless you carry lots of beach stuff in the hot sun.) The water is very nice, the sand is not the softest but not bad. You are surrounded by the gulf, snad and seagrass behind you. If you wander a little you will be alone. Not a nude beach, but (if you get a little frisky just keep an eye out) Pack a lunch, sneak a bottle of wine, relax, enjoy. (it is called Lovers Key )

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lovers Key State Park also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Lovers Key State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lovers Key State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.