We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayfront Bistro

Bayfront Bistro
4761 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-3923
+1 239-463-3663
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Beach Trolley stop is on the road next to the entrance.
Description: Bayfront Bistro is located on beautiful Estero Bay in a pristine preserve area on Ft Myers Beach. 200 yards from the white sands on the Gulf of Mexico the restaurant shares this beautiful location with Snook Bight Yacht Club & Marina. Bayfront Bistro is a Wine Spectator and Wine Enthusiast Award winner and the wine selection has 400 bottles to choose from, with something to please every palate. Dine in air conditioned comfort in the spectacular dining room where every table has a perfect view of the Bay or outside on the dining deck. Our talented chefs have crafted menus that will delight your senses! Start your meal with our Asian Calamari or Bayfront Flatbread, try our famous Bistro Salad, and then continue with 10 oz Filet Mignon, Bayfront Butterfish or Pork Con Mojo. And what meal would be complete without our Chocolate Seduction or Bayfront Bread Pudding? We look forward to seeing you!
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Menu was big and varied enough to offer many options, but not so big that it overwhelms. Being from out of state, it DID make it tough to choose a "first-timer's meal". The bartender, John, was extremely helpful in describing dishes and making recommendations (the butterfish he suggested was delicious). I'm only disappointed that we weren't there at sunset to take in what I'd expect to be a great view.

It does fall on the pricey side, but you do get good portions. Worth a visit, and we'll definitely be back when we return to the area!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra R, Owner at Bayfront Bistro, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
We are so happy that your "first-time" proved to be "EXCELLENT". We know there are numerous dining choices on Ft. Myers Beach and we are so glad your chose to make your first meal with Bayfront Bistro. We have a great staff, wonderful views, and 5-star meals. See you soon!
Happy Thanksgiving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    515
    180
    108
    61
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delicious meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

From Scotland, we were delighted to enjoy a first class meal at this restaurant. Meal was well prepared and waiter excellent. Thoroughly recommend you try eating here- very reasonable cost as well!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra R, Owner at Bayfront Bistro, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dorothy - Thank you so much for your 5-star review of your dining experience at Bayfront Bistro. We love to hear from our customers and really appreciate you recommending our Bayfront Bistro as a "first-class" restaurant. I am glad you received a warm welcome all the way from Scotland. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Our 5th visit just didn't measure up!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We have loved Bayfront and the new version of fried calamari with crisp veggies and thai chili sauce was the best fried calamari ever. Otherwise, if it hadn't been for our great waiter and the terrific view from the downstairs terrace, we would have been totally disappointed: the clam chowder was strange -- not at all what you might expect from a classic; the truffle fries (one of the reasons we love it there) were soggy, covered with what looked like cheese curds instead of the zested manchego they usually use and there was NO taste of truffle whatsoever, and the fire shrimp were as heavy a dish as you could imagine. Still, we'll be back: when the worst thing that happens is that you suffer culinary disappointment while sitting outside on a great day and paradise with a good glass of wine and an incredible view it's a good day. But, if they had more competition with views, they would have quite a challenge if this meal proves to be the new standard.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra R, Manager at Bayfront Bistro, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Vinny and Babs, Thank you for making the trek from Naples for the fifth time! I am however as disappointed as you are that we didn't measure up this time. We would certainly love to have you come a sixth time and let us treat you to those same appetizers and show you that your critique was not lost on our culinary staff. We take your patronage and loyalty very seriously. Please contact either Andrea or Colleen and let them know when you will be returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This restaurant on the bay has great food, friendly efficient service and wonderful ambiance.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We enjoyed a cocktail at the bar while chatting with John, the bartender ,and other patrons. We dined outside overlooking the bay and as evening arrived watched a full moon rise casting its light over the bay. Try the Butterfish, a great dish.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra R, Manager at Bayfront Bistro, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for the kind words and great review! We'd love to take credit for the spectacular moonrise, but it happens every month all on it's own. We are very glad to have found new friends and look forward to seeing you soon, and often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen Park, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food , great view , great atmosphere !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We saw this place when we were on a pontoon ride to the Gulf and couldn't wait to try it. After one year, the food, the view of the water and the service was awesome. It was worth the wait. One of Ft Myers' better restaurants!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra R, Owner at Bayfront Bistro, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
From a Pontoon ride to an awesome meal at Bayfront Bistro - I would say that is a perfect way to spend the day. We appreciate you letting us know how much you enjoyed Bayfront Bistro. We know Ft. Myers Beach has many dining choices and we appreciate you choosing us. Happy Thanksgiving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayfront Bistro also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bayfront Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayfront Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.