We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revisit was a charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayfront Bistro

Bayfront Bistro
4761 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-3923
+1 239-463-3663
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Beach Trolley stop is on the road next to the entrance.
Description: Bayfront Bistro is located on beautiful Estero Bay in a pristine preserve area on Ft Myers Beach. 200 yards from the white sands on the Gulf of Mexico the restaurant shares this beautiful location with Snook Bight Yacht Club & Marina. Bayfront Bistro is a Wine Spectator and Wine Enthusiast Award winner and the wine selection has 400 bottles to choose from, with something to please every palate. Dine in air conditioned comfort in the spectacular dining room where every table has a perfect view of the Bay or outside on the dining deck. Our talented chefs have crafted menus that will delight your senses! Start your meal with our Asian Calamari or Bayfront Flatbread, try our famous Bistro Salad, and then continue with 10 oz Filet Mignon, Bayfront Butterfish or Pork Con Mojo. And what meal would be complete without our Chocolate Seduction or Bayfront Bread Pudding? We look forward to seeing you!
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Revisit was a charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have now visited the Bayfront Bistro 3 times: the first visit a couple of years ago was great and the second, last year, was so disappointing I felt compelled to write a negative review in Trip Advisor, something I have never done before. After a very kind and apologetic email from the new owner, Sandra, encouraging us to give the restaurant another try, we had our third and best meal. We're extremely happy that the restaurant has returned to being one of the finest eateries in the Fort Myers area because we love the ambiance.
I had Cioppino, which was delicious. My husband's seared sea scallops were the best he and I (he reluctantly gave up a bite) can remember having. Wonderful salads and an extensive wine list rounded the evening off to a very fine dining experience. Thank you, Sandra, for convincing us to give this delightful place another try!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra R, Owner at Bayfront Bistro, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
You are SO WELCOMED! 3rd time was the charm and hopefully it always will be charming! We are so happy to hear that your visit to Bayfront Bistro was a five-star experience. We always strive for excellence but sometimes it falls short. Your kind words are very, very much appreciated and are flattered that you consider us to be “one of the finest eateries in Fort Myers area”- we agree. Thank you for your feedback and your patronage. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    154
    92
    50
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I miss the former chef”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This used to be my favorite restaurant on Fort Myers Beach. It had great food, great service and really nice views. Service and views are still there but food quality has taken a nose dive. The former chef was spectacular and we really miss him. He would come to the dinning room and greet guests and make sure every thing was perfect and it always was. I heard that the resturant was sold. If true these new owners need to step it up or this once excellent resturant will fail. I am a full time resident and all my neighbors say the same thing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra R, Owner at Bayfront Bistro, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Sorry to hear that the experience you had was not as great as past years. Marbin was a great chef but he has moved on. We currently have another amazing chef with outstanding qualities. We consider ourselves an excellent restaurant and have many loyal and happy customers who think so too. We would love to talk with you further to see how we can further perfect ourselves. You can send correspondences to bistrosowners@gmail.com Thank you for your patronage and your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

For openers, it is a spectacularly decorated restaurant. Secondly, the wait staff (Jeff on this recent visit) is well trained and knows the menu. Great choice of wines all levels and prices. Food is very good and portions are not overly abundant!!
Can't miss on this one!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra R, Owner at Bayfront Bistro, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
JFJ- Thank you so much for your compliments and your five-star review of Bayfront Bistro. We pride ourselves in training all our wait staff to be knowledgeable, personable, attentive and pleasant. Thank you for noticing. We appreciate your patronage and your feedback. Thank you and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We had the Early Dining Special at $41 per couple. Could not fault any if it. The food, service, ambience and wine were all delightful. Will be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra R, Owner at Bayfront Bistro, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your five-star review of Bayfront Bistro. Your review is the kind of review we love receiving We appreciate your patronage and the time you took to write this review. See you soon we hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Early-Bird Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Make sure you try their early-bird special. Salad, bread, entree, dessert, and a bottle of wine for $41.00/couple + tax & G. The service that we received from Chasity was great. Ask for her if you can. Location is great overlooking the back bay where dolphins can be seen in the late afternoon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra R, Owner at Bayfront Bistro, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and recommending Bayfront Bistro and the $41 special. We value your feedback. I love seeing the dolphins swimming and jumping also. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayfront Bistro also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bayfront Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayfront Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.