We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pricey and bad attitudes” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bayfront Bistro

Bayfront Bistro
4761 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-3923
+1 239-463-3663
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Beach Trolley stop is on the road next to the entrance.
Description: Bayfront Bistro is located on beautiful Estero Bay in a pristine preserve area on Ft Myers Beach. 200 yards from the white sands on the Gulf of Mexico the restaurant shares this beautiful location with Snook Bight Yacht Club & Marina. Bayfront Bistro is a Wine Spectator and Wine Enthusiast Award winner and the wine selection has 400 bottles to choose from, with something to please every palate. Dine in air conditioned comfort in the spectacular dining room where every table has a perfect view of the Bay or outside on the dining deck. Our talented chefs have crafted menus that will delight your senses! Start your meal with our Asian Calamari or Bayfront Flatbread, try our famous Bistro Salad, and then continue with 10 oz Filet Mignon, Bayfront Butterfish or Pork Con Mojo. And what meal would be complete without our Chocolate Seduction or Bayfront Bread Pudding? We look forward to seeing you!
Fort Myers florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“pricey and bad attitudes”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

food was just ok. Not enough value for the price. We have been here 4 times in the past 3 years and swear we will never go back. Two times we had a waitress that was very rude and ruined our dinner both times. We were told by management that they had many complaints on her and would take care of it. They gave us a $50 certificate to come back. We waited 4 months before returning and could not believe that she was still there. The view and everything are great but we will never go back because of the service and lack of food quality.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra R, Owner at Bayfront Bistro, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Wow - sorry we can never please you! We have many, many customers that are very happy. Sounds like you had a few bad experiences with one of our wait staff but we reserve the right to hire and fire who we wish! We do evaluate the staff on a daily basis. Bayfront Bistro serves an exceptional experience and we are not the least expensive meal in town but we are proud of our product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    154
    92
    50
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Freehold, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I visit the Sanibel Island every year and wouldn't miss the opportunity to eat at this beautiful restaurant. The servers are warm and welcoming and the food, no matter what we order, is delicious. We highly recommend this restaurant!!!! 5 STARS!

Harold and Deborah Eckett
Jackson, NJ

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra R, Owner at Bayfront Bistro, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Deborah - Thanks so much for your fabulous 5 star review of Bayfront Bistro. We really appreciate your feedback and value your loyalty. Hope to see you soon. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Big waste of money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We were really looking forward to coming here, but we were disappointed from the start. The older hostess with blonde hair was VERY snooty. We had a reservation and when we got there, we asked could we be seated at one of the two tables by the rail outside with the nice view. She said she thought those were reserved and would check. She didn't go check (we watched her) and she came back and said those were reserved, and she put us at a table right inbetween two other tables that were smashed so close together that we asked to be moved to a booth more inside the restaurant. We were there over an hour eating, and nobody ever sat at those two tables that we asked her about. So rude.
The server was very nice and the food was well below average. I got the spicy shrimp appetizer what was served in a "wonton bowl". No. It had a stale piece of wonton in it, although the shrimp was good. My $40 lobster tails came out cold (supposed to be served warm) and when I sent them back, (I was very nice about it as I have worked in restaurants...) they still came back barely lukewarm. My husband's fish was barely mediocre, although he said his oysters were very good. For the two of us and our daughter eating off of the kids menu, our meal was $187. By far the biggest waste of money we've had in a very long time. So disappointing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra R, Owner at Bayfront Bistro, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
We apologize that your evening at Bayfront Bistro was not a positively memorable one. There is no excuse for your initial greeting to have been non other than a warm smile and a big WELCOME!. Sometimes employees bring their personal issues to work and that should not happen! Sounds like your food was not up to your liking either and we do apologize for that. We value your patronage and your feedback! We hope we can make it up to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Late Dinner experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Visited for a special late dinner. Both entries were very over cooked and the service was poor.
Very disappointing because we enjoyed the upscale atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra R, Owner at Bayfront Bistro, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We are sorry that you were disappointed with the food and service the evening you dined with us. It is never our intention to have anyone walk away disappointed especially on a special evening. If you would like to discuss this further you can reach us at Bistrosowners@gmail.com. Thank you for your feedback and for dining with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“3 Wows”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Wow. For the terrific views. Ambience personified. Love the second floor advantage to watch the boats, enjoy the scenery.
Wow. For a varied menu. Good wine list.
Wow. For the unprofessional hostess. Definitely an attitude problem.

2 Wows out of 3. Too bad you can't go right to the table and avoid the incompetence.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra R, Owner at Bayfront Bistro, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about Bayfront Bistro. We are glad you enjoyed the views, food, menu and wine. We are addressing the other issue and appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayfront Bistro also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bayfront Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayfront Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.