We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun time had by all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flippers on the Bay

Flippers on the Bay
8771 Estero Blvd., Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931 (Formerly Flipper's)
+1 239-765-1025
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Estero Blvd.
Transit: Fort Myers beach trolley stop located one hundred yards to the west of the restuarant.
Description: Flippers on the Bay is an outdoor dining venue located on the dolphin filled waterfront vistas of Estero Bay. Enjoy the dynamic creations of Chef Juan Cruz while experiencing picturesque sunsets.
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun time had by all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

on vacation with my daughter and son-in-law. They had been there before and took us there. Dining on the deck overlooking a lake was a real treat. Sea food was great. Sevice was very attentive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    118
    40
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lunching Bayside for a change”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

If you're in Fort Meyers Beach and have decided to have lunch but don't want to travel in your car northbound...then go south to Flippers on the Bay....no traffic this way! We arrived had a short wait, and then were seated to a wonderful table overlooking the bay....sadly no dolphins to see that day but the food and service were good.....we shared a Caesar salad and burgers .... I had a glass of wine and the meal came to about $50.....kind of expensive for lunch but it was a nice setting.
Now to the boaters who are thinking of going there for lunch, just know that for some reason they don't seem to have any kind of dock for you to moor to...so you end up throwing our your anchor and then have to jump into the water, walk out to its tiny beachy area and to the restaurant.....a little awkward I think.....
I must also comment that while our service was really very very good...the couple who was seated right after us didn't get their meal until we had finished eating! They were really ticked off [and I can't say that I blame them....apparently their order had gotten lost]

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very pleasant lunch in outdoor setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We had a great lunch visit. Flippers is set up for outdoor dining and they do it well. We both had the fish tacos and enjoyed them very much. We were able to get in for lunch with a minimal wait. Because they do not have a large seating area, make a reservation if you are on a schedule.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Casual waterside dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The food and service at lunch were excellent.The location is superb.The menu is interesting.Mac & cheese with lobster was delicious.Good fish selection as well as tacos and wraps.The soups were also very good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Food Is Ok - Water View Is The Best Part”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Flippers was a terrific place to come for drinks on the patio and for a quick bite to eat after we had been biking on the beach. I'd recommend waiting for a table that allows you have have a water view if your schedule allows, as it's worth the extra 15 minute wait. The day we were visited Flippers they were busy (even at 2pm mid week). The host was extremely friendly, however the waitress we had pretty much pushed us through the "system" with very little effort or interaction. The fish tacos were good, as was the coconut shrimp but not good enough for us to return.

Would I recommend Flippers to friends - yes...for a great view, and a couple drinks and appetizers.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flippers on the Bay also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Flippers on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flippers on the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.