We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flippers on the Bay

Flippers on the Bay
8771 Estero Blvd., Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931 (Formerly Flipper's)
+1 239-765-1025
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Estero Blvd.
Transit: Fort Myers beach trolley stop located one hundred yards to the west of the restuarant.
Description: Flippers on the Bay is an outdoor dining venue located on the dolphin filled waterfront vistas of Estero Bay. Enjoy the dynamic creations of Chef Juan Cruz while experiencing picturesque sunsets.
Norton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Service and food were both great. Only downside is that we hit a small cold spell. It is outdoors and was cool at nights.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    118
    40
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
1 review
“Terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Ridiculous. Terrible experience. We showed up at 5 PM and were told they did not accept reservations, but that we could call ahead 30 minutes. So we walked back to our room, called 20 minutes later and got on a list. We got there 30 minutes later and were told an extra half hour. Meanwhile locals were let in, obviously knew the staff. We waited over 2 hours and gave up.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Service, food, and atmosphere...it's all good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Waited 10 minutes for a table on a Saturday night. No problem; enjoyed a drink at the bar on the beach looking out at the water.
Wait staff were very friendly and attentive, but not too intrusive. We ordered shrimp pasta and coconut shrimp; both were excellent.
Overall, the combination of atmosphere, service, and food quality will bring us back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The food is worth the wait. In season you will wait up to an hour as the place is small. Beach your boat or drive, it's worth the trip. Staff is friendly and the food is fresh.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tasty food, lovely view, AWESOME staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We ate here a few times while staying at Lovers Key Resort. It's a super casual restaurant right on the water. The food is good- goes beyond typical pool-front burgers and fries. But what really stood out and made it so that we will definitely go back was the staff. We were there with our 1.5 year old, and they were so accommodating and helpful. It made our visits that much better.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flippers on the Bay also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Flippers on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flippers on the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.