We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flippers on the Bay

Flippers on the Bay
8771 Estero Blvd., Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931 (Formerly Flipper's)
+1 239-765-1025
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Estero Blvd.
Transit: Fort Myers beach trolley stop located one hundred yards to the west of the restuarant.
Description: Flippers on the Bay is an outdoor dining venue located on the dolphin filled waterfront vistas of Estero Bay. Enjoy the dynamic creations of Chef Juan Cruz while experiencing picturesque sunsets.
UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Superb food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

Stopped by for breakfast during a bike ride - it was quite a chilly early morning but the heaters were on in the restaurant and we were able to admire the stunning view in comfort. Yes, we saw dolphins! :) We only had a simple breakfast but took an inquisitive interest in the food being served up around us. Presentation and taste were first class. Had this not been our last day, we would have hurried back for an evening meal. I would say that the chef is far superior to many in the area and the food is refined and inventive. We also found it refreshing that food was served up on proper plates ratther than plastic. Servers were delightful. And the rest rooms were really spotless and funky!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    160
    48
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Low key location for quiet dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

This seems to be the place for seafood. While the family isn't into seafood, it was a nice experience. Quiet, relaxed and great ambiance.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“AWSOME GROUPER,GREAT RUM DRINKS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

My husband and I went there for lunch today.We had a "groupon" so we decided to try this new place.We were amazed at the quality of the grouper sandwich that I had blackened and my hubby had grouper tacos.The place is outdoor only and a great view of the bay..we saw dolphins play while we enjoyed a cocktail.The waitress was friendly,the place is clean and I am sorry we did not order the REALLY big rum drink that another advisor recommended,we forgot...next time! Give it a shot !its worth the effort to find the location that is hidden away right over the bridge!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

The food was just excellent, I got the seafood platter with crab legs, shrimp, and a steak.

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“If you want to see dolphins, this is the place to go!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We call it "dolphin point" because every single time we go there we see dolphins. They just seem to congregate in front of this place. Hence the name Flippers! LOL Anyhow the food is fabulous and the drinks are great. Try the "bucket of rum" it will knock your socks off!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flippers on the Bay also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Flippers on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flippers on the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.