We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel right on the Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6200 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel right on the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have stayed here many times. With family and friends. We stayed at the rooms that are right on the beach. They were great exspecially with kids. You can walk right out on the beach. They have a pool and a tiki bar. They have activies for kids. We have always had an amazinge time when we stayed here. The rooms were very clean and the staff was always very nice.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    352
    122
    46
    21
See reviews for
300
418
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My daughter was staying on the beach at the Outrigger for my grand daughter's birthday in April and I wanted to really commend Dee the Food and Beverage Manager who handled our situation with totally professionalism and consideration. This type of customer service is a reflection of the company's care for their staff and the staff being empowered to understand mistakes happen. How they are handled is the difference in clients returning or not! Huge shout out to the team at Outrigger Beach Resort! Entertainment was awesome too!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed 4 nights. The resort is on the older side, but is clean and well maintained. Nevertheless, the rooms could use some updating. The refrigerator in our room was useless. We had to keep our bottled water in the freezer to get them chilled -- even with the fridge set to the coldest temperature. The food offered by their restaurant was mixed. I had an excellent grouper sandwich, but my wife's pulled pork sandwich was terrible. It wasn't pulled -- it was sliced and then chopped, and it was extremely salty. Breakfast service was slow. The waitresses seemed to be more engaged in discussions with friends, relatives, or regulars who were staying there, and the food was just average. The drinks at the tiki bar were generally "light" pours with cheap booze. We had to order top-shelf liquors to get anything to taste right. On the plus side, the location was fabulous -- right on the beach. They rent cabanas if, like us, you're a pale northerner worried about burning in the Florida sun. They also have nightly live entertainment at the tiki bar. Some of it was good, some not so much. Fortunately, they knock off at a reasonable hour so they aren't disturbing the guests. The same can't be said of the locals who hang out at the bar and often partied loudly late into the night. If you go there, don't expect much from the hotel or food service -- go because it is located right on the beach in the south end of Ft. Meyers Beach away from the crowds and traffic. For a great breakfast, go across the street to the Munch Box (see my related review).

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a wonderful time at this hotel...Beautiful View Beach Front View,,,
Good Drinks From The Tiki Bar In Fact We Just Book Our Next Vacation For 2016 in May.....Awesome Place Very Family Orientate..Needs A Little Bit More Help In The Deck Cafe..Wifi Could Of Been Faster..

Room Tip: Beach Front Is The Only Way To Go..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here in April for 3 nights the week after Easter. Traffic getting onto the island on a Tuesday afternoon was terrible. The Motel is at the south end of the Island where it is a little less congested. Check in was easy although we were told since we had booked with Expedia we would not have our choice of rooms. The motel is right on the beach, which is beautiful but our room on the 3rd floor was nothing to get excited about. The walkway was in need of repair. The room was a good size but a little worn. Our view was looking down onto a lower unit of rooms and a parking lot. The outdoor bar on the property is nice although our second day there after waiting for 20 min to get a beer we finally just walked away. Getting down to Times Square or anywhere north on the Island is a nightmare. One lane road and traffic was always backed up. Experience was ok but would not go back.

Room Tip: If you go here I would pay the extra money for room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the street it may look a little rough but it was wonderful. Outrigger has a 1960's resort feel but with updated amenities. They give you coupons for a free drink at check in. The tiki bar was a great place to grab a drink and there is live music everyday. The resort sits right on a beautiful wide beach. You can rent chairs or anything you need. The rooms were cleaned nicely everyday and we really enjoyed having the small kitchen. Pool was clean and nice. Would definitely come back!!

I would note that this place quiets pretty early which was fine with us because we were tired after spending all day at the beach.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, CT
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am so glad that we found this place! Definitely a hidden gem. I did a lot of research and read a lot of reviews to find a place that was family friendly, but didn't have the big resort feel. The Outrigger certainly fit this description and more! With great access to a fabulous beach, the Outrigger also has a great deck and Tiki bar. The staff was extremely helpful, friendly and laid back. We took advantage of being outside for most of our trip, so I felt the rooms were just right, clean and convenient. The Cafe staff was very friendly and were working hard. Our room looked over the deck, so we were a bit worried about the noise at night, however it wasn't a problem at all. All of the guests were very respectful and everything seemed to close up around 10:00 p.m. The rooms seemed very well insulated so it was quiet all night, even with occupied rooms on either side. The atmosphere at the Outrigger was so very friendly, fun and laid back. At sunset, everyone seemed to stop what they were doing and gather on the beach. It was a special moment each night as strangers would come together and watch the sun settle into a brilliant sunset. Some guests (maybe staff) even blew a conch shell in salute! Overall, we had a great experience. I'm so glad that places like this still exist. It sets itself apart from the glitz, traffic and fabrication of the big resorts, but held its quiet, best kept secret...a great atmosphere at the stage of a beautiful beach. NOTE to owners: Please don't ever sell out! You have created a very special place and have sustained your own unique Southwestern Florida presence in spite of the high rise resorts around you! We can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Beachview rooms would be the best, but fill up quickly; 2nd pick would be deckside
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outrigger Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Beach Resort

Address: 6200 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Outrigger Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Outrigger Fort Myers Beach
Fort Myers Beach Outrigger

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.