We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and rejuvenate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6200 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
BONITA SPRINGS
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Relax and rejuvenate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Located at the quiet end of Fort Myers Beach, recently stayed there with my husband and daughter to reconnect as a family. Stayed in a beachfront efficiency and enjoyed every minute of the fabulous view. Room was comfortable and clean with a balcony. Started morning on the balcony with a coffee and ended it with a tropical drink watching sunset and then cooling breeze with rolling waves at the end of the night. White-sand beach went on forever. Food was good in Deckside cafe, while Tiki offered a full bar and live music. Staff is friendly and takes care of you.

Room Tip: Park your car and walk the beach or travel up and down the town on the trolley. Well located with re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    352
    122
    46
    21
See reviews for
300
418
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marshfield, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Was recommended by a friend who recently stayed there and loved it. Location is perfect for nice, quiet, relaxing vacation on the beach. Ten minute trolly or car ride to swinging night life. Walk across the street to great restaurant. Movie/Dinner Theater accross the street too. Rooms are very clean. Staff is friendly and very helpfull. Already planning next years trip with our children and grand kids.

Room Tip: Ask about the rooms at the end of the building facing the beach and Gulf. Ground floor, open the sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 5 pleasant days at the Outrigger. We usually stay in condos when we travel, but chose the Outrigger as part of a package deal. We were pleasantly surprised with how nice the place was! The place is older but very well maintained. The rooms are clean and with concrete walls - relatively quiet. The grounds are nicely landscaped. The Tiki bar and the restaurant on site are convenient for getting drinks and meals without leaving the site and both have reasonable prices. There is also a convienience store right across the street if you want some things to snack on or a bottle of wine for your room. Service at the bar, restaurant and hotel office was friendly and prompt. Maid service was also prompt. The beach is amazingly wide with a shallow drop off for swimming. its also great for walking. Overall we had a great stay and would recommend the Outrigger.

Room Tip: We stayed In a side efficiency which had a surprisingly good side view of the beach. It also has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had a first floor beachfront room that was perfect for the two of us. The room was clean, well furnished and opened right onto the white sand beach. We were steps away from a good restaurant, relaxing lounge area and very nice Tiki Bar. The staff was very courteous and accommodating. All in all it was a wonderful, relaxing vacation for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Our 3 night stay was a wonderful expereince and the Outrigger is as one of the front desk personnel described it... " a little bit of old Florida". To describe the Outrigger in one word it would be "simple". The grounds were very clean, the staff were very friendly and I felt very welcomed when we arrived.

The view of the beach was beautiful!! The sand really is baby powder fine. The beach frontage was huge and the ocean was warm. The pool was on the smaller side and one day I felt like I had no room to move just because there were a lot of people there that day. But, the pool was very clean.

The rooms were clean and the bathroom was clean but small. The breakfast buffet was good. The 2 women who worked there were very busy and pleasant as they kept everyone happy. We had lunch there one day and we were told if we want to sit out on the deck our lunch would be brought to us. The food was delicious and the atmosphere with the beautiful day was perfect.

The Outrigger is a place that I would definitely recommend as a place to stay and with that said if I had to give some constructive criticism it would be for management to make sure that water drains efficiently down the drain when you shower because ours didnt and the water did rise as you were taking a shower. It would drain away when the shower was off. Check to make sure the shower curtains arent too long because ours was and it was just another thing to do to keep from slipping on the curtain. Check all doors to rooms because we had some space at the bottom of the door where we just rolled up a towel and put it in front of the door each night. And we were in the back where the bbq's were on the 2nd floor and all down the hall each room's air conditioner had a plastic bowl under it to catch the water and it was not something I have seen at a hotel and was just a little weird to see the bowls of water overflowing.

All in all I loved the Outrigger and will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Very well maintained facility---the staff went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.
My wife and I just returned from 4 days @ the Outrigger, and over all we enjoyed the experience.
The resort provided some form of entertainment every day, and I thought the drink prices were very affordable @ the Tiki bar.
Like most have mentioned this resort is an older motel type unit that has capitalized on the great location.
Overall I found this place very maintained and super clean.
I have to be honest the prices are a little high, but given the location I understand---I never felt unsafe or overlooked during my visit.
The area does have several great dining/attractions close by---the great beach/ocean of course is their crowning jewel.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms add great Ambiance---with great beach views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses Lake, WA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We arrived at noon on a Monday and was able to check in early! Standard room was large except bathroom, almost had to stand in shower to shut door. We had 2 beds, with a small table and 2 chairs.

Our view was of the back parking lot, bbq area and hallway to the beach view rooms but that was ok cause we only stayed in our room to sleep. We didn't notice the noise from the A/C or from the hallway & other rooms.

The beach was well maintained, raked every morning, sugar white and as fine as flour. There were some chairs to sit on the beach near the sundeck & Tiki bar. Cabanas could be rented near the gulf. We did notice that some of the Europeon guests thought it was a topless beach. The sunsets were spectacular and there were lots of shells to see when the tide went out. We also saw many dolphins swimming close to the shore.

Our stay was at the end of spring break so there were a few young children but all were all well behaved in the pool area as many of the older guests used the pool every afternoon. There was live music at the Tiki Bar every evening from 5-8 which could be enjoyed from the sundeck, pool area or on the beach. An added bonus was right down the beach was the Women's Sand Sculpting Championships. We also had beautiful weather, 85-90* everyday.

The trolley stopped right in front of the resort which was the best way to travel to "Time's Square" as parking was limited & costly downtown and at times with only a 2 lane road it could take a lot of time to travel a short distance. The trolley was 50 cents a trip or $1.50 for an all day pass and it came by about every 20-30minutes.

There was a breakfast buffet for $8.99 at the Deckside Cafe which had several choices but some of the hot items were "cool" right after they were replenished but that could have been because they were busy & trying to keep up.

All of the staff from the front desk to housekeeping & groundskeepers were very courteous and professional.

Only suggestion would be that they have "Flag Warnings" for the waters, we, as well as families with younger children, spent one afternoon swimming in the waves in the gulf, to find out there was a strong riptide warning after we returned to our room. Always check the weather before going in the water. I know the hotel beaches in Pensacola post different colored flags as a warning for their guests.

Would highly recommend the Outrigger, we are already planning a return visit next spring with friends!

Room Tip: If you want a room with a ocean view select the gulf rooms with the balcony overlooking the beach. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Beach Resort

Address: 6200 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Outrigger Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Outrigger Fort Myers Beach
Fort Myers Beach Outrigger

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.