We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6200 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We did not know what to expect and we were blown away during our entire stay at the Outrigger. We had perfect weather when we were there and the main beach by the pier was extremely packed... but this one was perfect. You cannot ask for a better beach. The resort has a massive maze of a deck with tiki umbrellas sitting all over the place and it is very inviting location to be when trying to get out of the sun for a bit. The tiki bar on the beach is very busy and could have used one more person working there... but the drinks are cheap and the bands were wonderful. The Deckside Cafe has great prices for really good food. They did get backed up considerably one day while we were there but we also had a fairly large group and the deck was a great place to wait at. We cannot speak loud enough about the excellent service at the resort. They were all great. The resort is not a 5 star hotel but it is an excellent place if you do not want to spend a ton of money and want a very nice place on what I consider as the best beach in Ft. Myers. We will be going there again... not only to hear the blowing of the shells when the sun goes down but to enjoy all of the amenities they have to offer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    386
    140
    56
    23
See reviews for
353
451
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

You do not need to be worried about staying here. Even though this property is a bit older it is very clean. We found the price of a room here was a bit less expensive compared to other hotels in the area. It was a touch more than what we wanted to spend but we really wanted to stay directly on the Gulf and that is what we got, the beach was absolutely amazing there. Our very quiet room had two very average queen beds with a nice mini fridge. We spent a small amount of time at the Tiki Bar, which is next to a very nice pool, and enjoyed the service for the reasonably priced drinks. We also decided to check out the "Cafe" for dinner and even though the food was OK two of the three meals that we ordered came out wrong. The buffalo chicken sandwich came out as buffalo chicken fingers, and the butterfly shrimp basket came out as the buffalo shrimp appetizer. They were close! We didn't bother sending anything back as long as we were charged properly. The waitress seemed really stressed out. It seemed like the two waitresses were expected to cover large areas in the cafe. Some extra staff might be beneficial. This hotel is only 20 miles from Fort Myers but took almost an hour to get to. Traffic on and off the island is absolutely horrible. The good thing about where this hotel is located is that it is away from the cheesy tourist area that you see when you first come onto the island. Overall, nice place! We probably won't stay here again only because our main focus was entertainment that was in the city of Fort Myers. The only negative about the place was the odor of cigarette smoke from the ashtrays that are on the property. No smokey smell in the room we stayed in but certainly near the stair wells and at the bar (which is expected).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport
Level Contributor
116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our room had a kitchen, dining area, living area and our bedroom area. The room had a spacious feel to it and a fantastic view of the beach. On site they have a pool, beach bar, restaurant and game room. The employees are friendly and helpful. They also have a computer on site to use. This is a fantastic place and I strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms facing the beach for an awsome view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stansbury park, utah
Level Contributor
189 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

First we checked in 4 hours early...no problem! Friendliest desk ever. Older but clean rooms with mini fridge. An amazing powder white sand beach goes on forever with shallow water for the kids. The pool is small with chairs covered in towels with nobody on them...oh well! The food at the cafe is inexpensive. The tiki bar by the pool was a fun little watering hole that stayed quite busy with reasonably priced drinks. A nice vacation with one day left. Spend a little for the beach cabana, all day for $15 is a bargain, not too mention they gave us a coupon for $5 off at check in.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the oceanfront, we had a view of the parking lot as nothing else was available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The Outrigger Beach Resort is a true gem! It is clean safe, and well-run. The staff is friendly, helpful, and ready and willing to put in the extra effort to make your stay special. It is true that the rooms are dated, but they are perfect for a casual beach vacation. There is plenty of free parking. The Tiki Hut is a great place to stop for a drink and the beach-side restaurant is perfect for breakfast. The beach is amazing! I highly recommend renting a bike and riding it along the shore in the hard-packed sand. You will feel like you;re ten years-old!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have stayed at the Outrigger Beach on Ft. Myers Beach 3 times. Love it there.....the sandy beach goes for as far as you can see......We rent a beachfront room..which is an efficiency, so we go to the market and buy some breakfast foods, snacks and beer.......the view is beautiful.... and the daily sunsets are breathtaking!!! Just a walk down the stairs and we're at the Tiki Bar where you'll meet the friendiest bartenders on the beach. We met alot of good people there on our last trip in Dec. 2012. Grab a bite to eat and eat on the deck or at the bar. It's so very relaxing. Rooms are great and atmosphere is excellant! Can't wait to go back again!!

Room Tip: I love the beach front with the private balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

To begin, I love nice chain hotels and typically can find Marriotts, Hilton's and Westins for almost any vacation at a nice $100-$150 plus tax price point - depending on location and season, of course. I am staying at the Outrigger because my parents are here and I wanted to come visit, so it wasn't my choice. As a frequent business and leisure traveler, here is the truth about this motel:
1. It is a motel. The rooms are small, outdated, and curtains/blinds do not at all darken the room from the parking lot lights.
2. The small motel rooms are pricey. Mine was discounted for a "winter sale" to $193 plus tax per night. For a motel room?!
3. The safe in the room does NOT fit a laptop, which for me is inconvenient.
4. The restaurant food is very reasonably priced and good. So are cocktails, very affordable!
5. The staff is super friend and pleasant.
6. The housekeepers completely ignore Do Not Disturb signs and come right in anyway.
7. The clientele is retirement age, and everyone has been super fun and friendly. Nicest people, and quite a few single older folks as well.
8. Tiki bar music is glorified karaoke but fun music.
9. Sunsets are fabulous. Lots of nice restaurants close, and very affordable prices.
10. Pretty soft white sand beach, which is huge and powdery.
So as long as you know what you are booking when coming here, it will be a nice place to vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#22 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 916 reviews
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
#5 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,244 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#13 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#9 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolphin Inn
Dolphin Inn
#19 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
4.5 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#4 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Beach Resort

Address: 6200 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Outrigger Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Outrigger Fort Myers Beach
Fort Myers Beach Outrigger

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.