We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6200 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Okay for the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Outrigger is off the beaten path at the south end of Fort Myers Beach. We chose outrigger based on the Tripadvisor rating, 17th at the time, combined with the fairly low nightly rates. Our room was comfortable, although the beds are SMALL. Our kitchenette was adequate with a microwave, pretty sizable fridge and amenities. The place shows its age, but staff appears to be keeping up with the time. The hotel has a restaurant on site, and the food was ok for the money. $15 gets you a cabana for the day ($10 after 1p). All in all, we got what we paid for. If you want to be in the middle of the Fort Myers Beach action, stay further north. If you want a more sane and quiet experience, the Outrigger will do you fine.

Room Tip: The pool view was about $20 more, but we actually had a gulf view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    351
    121
    46
    21
See reviews for
297
417
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I needed a weekend getaway to celebrate our anniversary and my birthday. I've driven by the Outrigger a hundred times over the years, but this was the first time we stayed. What an amazing time! The Outrigger isnt the Ritz. It's what vacationing in Florida used to be, and still should be. Simple, fun, nice staff, clean rooms and a good value. The beach in Front of the Outriger is one of the widest in all of Florida. The sands are sugar-white, and lack of public parking in the nearby area means the beach never gets too crowded. Lots of nice shelling in the morning, and the sunsets are amazing. The Tiki Bar is perfect for beverages and meeting people too. Thanks to all for a great weekend

Room Tip: Spend a few extra bucks and get one of the oceanfront rooms on the end. The sunset on the balcony i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We spent four days at the Outrigger the week of Labor Day. We plan to return next year. Upon arrival we upgraded to a beach front room and it was worth it. The room was clean, comfortable, and suited all our needs. The hotel is right on the widest part of the beach and offers the most beautiful unobstructed views of the gulf. The Outrigger's staff go out of there way to help make your stay enjoyable. The tiki bar was lived up to it reputation. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Amazing sunset view. Room was very clean. We had a kitchen area and it was great to prepare meals. Staff very friendly. Ft Myers beach area very friendly. Beachfront room was really nice. Beach area very clean. The kids loved the pool area and going to the beach to look for sea shells.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe, OH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We have stayed at the Outrigger in February for several years now. We love it! When we called to get reservations for February 2013 we found out that to reserve a beachfront room you had to stay for 5 nights. We usually only stay for 3-4 nights. We were very disappointed because we do a road trip every year and like to go to other places in Florida also. We decided to take a cruise since we had never been on one. Well, needless to say that after a lot of discussion we decided to go back to the Outrigger and stay for 5 nights so we could have the beachfront room! We love the Outrigger!! It is a wonderful place, with a great staff, beautiful beach, clean comfy rooms, great Tiki Bar, and stunning sunsets!! What more could anyone ask for!! Can't wait till February 2013!! :o)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Thank you to everyone that posted positive reviews...we went, we stayed, we loved it and plan to return! I looked at many places along the beach, from the north end to the south end, and based on reviews, cost and location we chose the Outrigger. I'm not afraid to say I like the occasional posh resort for a vacation, but when I saw this place it brought back memories of my youth and the old hotels in Nags Head where we used to vacation. There was something about it, no pretense of an upscale fancy resort, this place oozed old fashioned fun right on the beach. Although there were those fancy water sports available (jet skis) no one seemed interested; the atmosphere was so laid back and peaceful and friendly. The tiki bar does draw a locals crowd but they are very welcoming to the visitors and ready to offer any advice on where to go and what to do.
We opted for a Resort View West suite because we were only staying 2 nights, we wanted queen beds and we wanted a view of the gulf (actually we wanted gulf front but they only rent for week long stays). The room was just like the picture, clean and comfortably sized. The outside on this building could use some refurbishing, but don't let that deter you, it's only cosmetic. Next time I think we will opt for the poolfront efficiency as that building is a little closer to the beach and pool, but mainly because we plan on staying longer next time so we want an efficiency. We ate at the small restaurant on site, food was good, nothing unique but offered a variety of dishes. Nice portions and reasonably priced. We also ate across the street at Charley's Boathouse, even though there was a wedding party from the resort there (we actually walked across the street with them), the service was good and food came out in a timely manner. Again, food was good but nothing unique (with the exception of the salad bar), typical fare for that type of venue.
The Outrigger is so convenient to everything we ad time to explore the whole island and more. We visited Lover's Key one morning, a must do if you enjoy walking the beach looking for shells and such. It's about a 5 minute drive from the resort and very easy to find. We also drove over to Sanibel one day which is about a 20 minute drive. Many things to do and places to eat along the way.
The 3rd night of our vacation we ventured up to the north end and stayed one night at another place (yes, higher end posh), we wanted to compare areas and beach/water quality. In conclusion we decided unanimously that the south end and the Outrigger were the favorites hands down. From the room to the overall resort (clean and accommodating), the staff and people visiting (no rowdies or rude ones), and of course the location......it was one of the most relaxing, enjoyable places I've visited.

Room Tip: Resort View West on 3rd floor has Gulf views, would maybe choose Poolfront for better proximity to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We LOVED this place! There was more good then bad to this hotel. The beach was breath taking and a lot to do! The staff was really friendly. The room was big and easy access to the beach, bar, and the restaurant. It would be great for families and couples. The bad thing would be the noise level was loud at night because the room we stayed in was RIGHT beside the stairs and the entrance way. The Tiki bar was alot of fun, but they only had one bartender which took forever for our drinks.

Room Tip: If you are getting Ocean Front DO NOT STAY IN Room 102.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Beach Resort

Address: 6200 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Outrigger Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Outrigger Fort Myers Beach
Fort Myers Beach Outrigger

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.