We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outrigger Outta Sight!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6200 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outrigger Outta Sight!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The main attraction to the Outrigger Beach Resort on Fort Myers Beach is indeed the expansive white-sand beach. If we’re talking “location, location, location,” this place has got it. Located away from the busier section of Estero Island, Lovers Key State Park is easily accessible, and Sanibel and Captiva Islands are not too far away either.
I got a room on a weekday in August for a reasonable rate as a walk-in. In fact, I arrived well ahead of their published check-in time (4 p.m.) and got in right away. The guest rooms are basic, and I’d say the bathrooms are a bit tight. I noticed a few very small ants in the bathroom, which according to the front desk are more prevalent during the rainy times. Really, the ants were so few and so small, who cares?
As for amenities, there is an outdoor freshwater pool surrounded by a large deck and nearby tiki bar. The Deckside Café is only steps away where you can get breakfast, lunch and dinner.
The staff is friendly and helpful from the front desk to the restaurant to housekeeping. Overall, a good value, I think. And apparently if you live in state, you can get an even better “local” rate.

Room Tip: Families will probably prefer on of the efficiencies. You can get a great view of the beach. I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    320
    111
    41
    19
See reviews for
270
377
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N'pton England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed over the weekend and had an amazing stay, we up graded the room to a sea view, well worth the money.
The rooms were clean and had everything you needed for the stay and more, very impressed with the Kitchen, 2 televisions, and clean bathroom.
The Tiki bar staff were very friendly and even put my Husbands Football on for him. The cocktails were lovely and quite strong!!
The food was good and always freshly prepared. You can eat either in the cafe, by the bar, or the pool and they even deliver to the room if you wish.
The pool area is clean and you can help yourself to towels.
The beach for us was the best part, talcum powder sand. The breeze coming off the sea was most welcomed as the sun was very hot.
Over all an relaxing enjoyable stay and am looking forward to returning some day soon.

Room Tip: Sea view well worth the extra pennies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, BC, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This was our second stay at this resort and it was even better than the first; largely because we booked a beach front ground floor efficiency room. We liked this resort for the value, tropical feel, large comfortable rooms and small scale. Yes the resort is a little dated but it is clean and everything works. When booking do a little research into the rooms first. review their website and scour the trip advisor comments and pics. We did and there were never any surprises. Book by calling the hotel that way you know exactly what you are getting. If you arrive by air, rent a car. There is so much to see and do within a short drive of the resort, besides if you are in an efficiency room you will need a car to shop for groceries. The deckside cafe is good but you must try the restaurants in the area. We found many we liked but I will mention the Gulfshore grill (very good salad bar) and Parrot Key as two of our favorites (reasonably priced, great view and good food. Honorable mention is the Fishhouse (ask for directions because it is hard to find). Happy hour is everywhere but check first. Some places are all day and some may start at 4pm as we found out at the Lanai Kai where the view from the roof bar and restaurant was unsurpassed. Fort Myers beach is a flip flop, T-shirt or golf shirt and shorts vacation. Hardly anyone is dressed up in dresses or long pants at restaurants, day or night. so all you really need in clothes could fit in carry-on (unless you are a shoe nut like my wife). The tiki bar at the outrigger is fun. Beer is cheap and it is a great place to socialize. Lots of locals go there on weekends and evenings. The smoke can get a little tough at times though. My wife is allergic so when it gets to bad we just go sit under a palapas on the deck, which is very nice too. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and try hard to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. I have to mention that if you want a little romantic getaway, a ground floor beachfront room is a must.

Room Tip: Talk to hotel booking staff first before choosing a room. They will give you the straight goods and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Philadelphia, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My son and i just returned from our vacation at Fort Myers Beach. To be honest i was somewhat disappointed with our stay at the Outrigger. First diappointment- our view of "the gardens" is a parking lot with a couple picnic tables. Second- no microwaves in the rooms. Was told by Russ the manager that no rooms except efficiencies have them. Available for 5 dollars a day. Really? Third- i know it's Florida but our room was infested with "ghost ants". And finally the cafe had horrible service. We went in at 8:40. Were ignored. Got our own paper menus, waitress finally came over took our order and packaged it to go. While waiting watched her totally ignore other people who came in to order. They really need to find some servers who actually like people. On the good side. Beach is beautiful, as it is all up and down this stretch. House keeping did a good job (other than ants). Best thing it's cheap.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLBIGOS, Director of Sales at Outrigger Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
The scourge of rainy season - ghost ants. We can understand and sympathize with this guest's frustration. We apologize that this guest experienced uncaring service during their visit to the Café. That is not the kind of service we normally provide. Our guest rooms do not offer complimentary microwaves but they are available at a small fee. We always recommend our efficiencies for any of our guests that choose to cook during their holidays. And for the microwave popcorn fanciers, just bring the popcorn down to the front office and we will “pop” it for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We spent four days here with our two boys, 12 and 15, and absolutely loved it! Our room was spacious and clean, the staff was very friendly, the pool was small but well maintained, and we were right on the beach for a great price. The best part was the large deck and the tiki bar. There was live music several nights per week, and it was great to sit on the deck with a frozen drink, listen to the music and watch the beautiful sunsets over the gulf. Every morning my husband and I took our coffee and walked along the beach picking up shells. There were only a few negatives. We had a few very tiny ants in the bathroom area. The beach wasn't as well groomed as it could have been (apparently this was because they can't disturb sea turtle nests) and you had to walk through a very large pool of stagnant and slimy water to get to the gulf (not the hotel's fault). And although the small restaurant downstairs was quaint and intimate with decent prices and decent food, the service was VERY slow and inconsistent. They forgot to serve some members of our party, served the wrong items, and our wait time averaged 30 minutes. The best bet is to order in the cafe and have them bring it out to you on the deck - just be sure you leave yourself plenty of time. But these were minor complaints, and overall we really enjoyed our vacation at the Outrigger and will definitely go back again!

Room Tip: If they're available and you can afford it, get a room facing the gulf. Otherwise, the pool vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Just spent the weekend in Fort Myers Beach, FL. This was our first visit to this very quaint, fun little island - and definitely won't be our last! Outrigger Resort was the perfect choice of accommodations - inexpensive, located mere steps from the beach, super friendly staff - can't say enough positive things about it! Can't wait to visit for longer than a weekend! We chose the garden view efficiency, which we loved for the private, single apartment feel it offered. Had the breakfast buffet in their Deckside Cafe a couple of times. Food was just ok, but for the price (morning breakfast buffet), it served its purpose. The location at the south end of the beach was ideal - lots of beach area without huge crowds (helped a lot that August is off season, which we were pleasantly surprised to learn). Already thinking about when we can return! And with regard to previous reviews - yes, there is a semi-dated aspect to the resort, but IMHO, that's what makes it great & very quaint. The staff was great, the accommodations were comfortable & clean - highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Beware of the 5 DAY cancelation period..no exceptions, i.e. hurricanes, tropical storms..I was unable to recover my entire deposit.while tropical storm Debby was in the gulf of mexico heading for Fort Myers Beach..

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLBIGOS, Director of Sales at Outrigger Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
I am a bit confused with this statement as it is clearly marked on our website that we waive the cancellation fee if there is a named storm threatening Florida. We live here and we understand the need to be home if a storm is threatening. I am sure that if this guest will contact me directly we can come to an amenable conclusion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Beach Resort

Address: 6200 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Outrigger Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Outrigger Fort Myers Beach
Fort Myers Beach Outrigger

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.