We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place! Would return. Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windward Passage Resort

Save Saved
You added Windward Passage Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windward Passage Resort
418 Estero Blvd., Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel amenities
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nice Place! Would return. Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Hi,

This a great place to stay for a family or a couple. Very clean units and staff was great.

On the N side of Ft. Myers Beach and the pier. You do not see the dolphins here as they seem to like the southern part of the beach area. That was disappointing but it is what it is.

We stayed here 6/7 to 6/15 2013 in room 302 which was a great oceanfront room. The only thing that we didn't like is that the bedroom was in the back of the unit and you could not see or hear the ocean/gulf. There was a nice pull-out bed in the living room.

Highlights:

-Pool was maintained every morning and they did a great job. It's heated but obviously doesn't need it at this time of year.
-Hot tub is awesome. About 102 degrees and really pleasant, especially at night.
-Pool and HT are only supposed to be open till dusk, but that goes by the wayside every night and nobody really seems to care. I think this is great that nobody complained and the kids had a great time after hours.
-Parking is tough under the tennis courts. Either the driver or passenger door will be hard to get in and out of.
-Great beach in low or high tide. A few fishing guys out there in the am. Lots of opportunity for gathering shells, if you like that.
-Small kitchen in our unit, but it was fully equipped. Real oven, microwave, fridge, and utensils.
-Publix is WAY overpriced on Estero Blvd. Walmart is about 15 minutes away by car. Worth the ride.
-Laundry machines are free, but you have to have the detergent. They have machines for that and cost 0.50/deal.
-Chairs for the beach are free but you must haul them yourselves. And, take them back when you are done. Not a problem. Umbrellas are optional at a cost.
-You can smoke at the North end of the pool or in other designated areas. It is all outlined in the pamphlet/summary sheet they give you when you check in.
-You can use the bikes for free at the resort. Just check them out and return them. It's about a mile to the pier.
-Towel exchange is on Tuesday.

We really thought we would be the youngest people here (Look at their website weekly pics), but it turned out there were a lot of couples and families which was cool. We had a great time and met some great people.

Take care,

DaveandMissy

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have traveled to this resort for many many years...It has all the ammenities of home. Recent upgrades at this resort insures that it will be just as good for years to come. You are on the more northern part of the island...which is great for a more quiet environment. If it is the nightlife you crave...the good news is you are a very short walk to times square which is the hub of this little island. Shops, restaurants, bars...and time square sits right at the pier which makes it nice!

Morning watch from the enclosed balcony almost allows will show you the morning dolphin passes. Shelling is great here....sugar white beaches. The pool is pristine...if you do not enjoy your stay here...it is your own fault. I highly reccomend it.

Room Tip: Smokin Oyser Bar...and Pete's timeout! Two great places to stop in and relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We did not notice many positive changes.
Always felt that we were a bother if we stopped into the main office with a quick question.
Our unit was clean and quiet.
Loved the Smokin' Oyster Bar in Ft. Myers Beach!!!
The majority of guests were seniors.
Some of the beach chairs need replacing with comfortable ones. Why are guests charged for chair pads?
Uncertain if we will return...

Room Tip: Request a gulf front room. Head for S.O.B's for a drink and oysters!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soleil2jours
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had so much fun at the Windward Passage thanks to the staff and mother nature. We changed our reservation to the WP at the last minute from another location just down the street and were so thrilled we did. It is a very family-friendly location, near to numerous restaurants and shops but far enough to avoid most of the noise and traffic. The staff was helpful with area attractions and other service-oriented requests. The ocean was healthy and full of various creatures and shells. We watched dolphins playing in the wake of the hydrofoils from our balcony. You can also walk down to the end of the point where there is a park with land tortises, as well as a great spot for spotting dolphins near shore. It was recommended we take the pirate cruise as we have young children and it was entertaining. Sanibel Island is just a short drive away and is also beautiful and full of wildlife as well. While our unit was smaller than anticipated, it suited our needs just fine (so glad it had a dishwasher!). We ran into a family from our hometown there who had been going there for 15 years, as did several of the other families. It truly had that family feel. There were scheduled activities throughout the week. The paddle boards and kayaks trial was great. Parking was easy and the tennis courts above were fun. Would gladly go back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Direct oceanfront property: unit # 308: wonderful unit, screened in porch from living room to bedroom. Immaculately cleaned. Comfortable king size bed. The furniture is slighly dated but clean. Time share property that was very quite and plenty of parking. Nice property: free beach lounge chairs and you could rent a beach umbrella for $5 for the entire week. Nice swimming pool and jacuzzi. A beautiful walk along the beach to Times Square where there is plenty of shopping and restaurants. I would definately recommend: the property is clean, excellent view and overall a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

The place is ok to stay for a short period of time. As 1200 for the week being the cheapest rate its ok for the value. You can always hear the air conditioner in the other rooms and the ones in the room are a bit loud but work awesome. This place is definitely for older people to stay at. If your looking for a place with a bar that's open daily and want to party this place is not for you.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburndale, Florida
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

we loved it here!!! loved Klaus the manager. loved the location on the island. I am so glad that this resort had an available unit. I have knee problems and walking to the water's edge was a piece of cake. Even the other guests were nice. You'll love it here!

Room Tip: we liked the building perpendicular to highrise. this did not have a view, but all activities are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Windward Passage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windward Passage Resort

Address: 418 Estero Blvd., Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Specialty lodging in Fort Myers Beach
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Windward Passage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windward Passage Hotel Fort Myers Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windward Passage Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.