We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great stay here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20091 Summerlin Road, Fort Myers, FL 33908   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 61 Hotels in Fort Myers
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“We had a great stay here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This appears to be a very popular hotel and is used quite a bit. It is very close to Sanibel Island, which was our goal. Our room was fine- clean and kept up. What we discovered once we arrived is that it has one of the biggest swimming pools of any hotel we have visited, and the hot tub too, was quite large and very warm. So, each day we hit the pool and hot tub and we're glad we did. They are great! The equipment in the exercise room was all in working order. The breakfast ends at 9:00 am sharp and this made for a large crowd at 8:30 to 9:00. It tended to be quite crowded. The selections were adequate. All in all, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    313
    126
    66
    43
See reviews for
283
302
62
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
fot myers/sanibel gateway, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

read some of the reviews prior to booking, some complained about an odor. I didn't notice too much, but a very faint odor present, nothing overwhelming and likely due to the carpeting. the room was pretty nice, clean, and looked somewhat updated. the pool was beautiful and not overly crowded. there were some very minor issues that I noticed, 1. the pool linens were almost always out of stock, 2. the maid service came at all different hours so it was hard to know when to stay in or return to room, 3. breakfast/dining area very small and crowded. 4. the "fitness center" they advertise is the size of a closet and contained 4 or 5 pieces of equipment, pretty misleading. overall the place was clean, beds were comfortable, staff was friendly and helpful, relatively quiet (except my last night) and if you're going to this area of FL for the beaches, then it's in a great location. I would return to this specific La Quinta again should I come back to Ft. Myers.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Hotel is convenient to Sanibel/Captiva and a lot less expensive than most of the hotels on the islands. Located next to Publix and across from an outlet mall, so there are stores nearby. Hotel is clean enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

The first room had bugs. The second was run down, smelled like smoke, had no window lock, garbage on the floor and feces in the toilet! Thank goodness we only stayed one night! We felt dirty having to sleep there and woke up extra early to check out. Shouldve been paid to stay there instead of the other way around.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I had mixed feelings about this hotel. We normally stay at the Residence Inn on the other side of the parking lot from La Quinta, but got a good rate at LQ so we decided to give it a try.

The positives:

1. The front desk help was very friendly. They were busy, between the phone and the walk up guests, but they kept a smile on their faces and answered everyone's questions.

2. The pool area was very nice, very comfortable to hang out there.

The not-so-positives:

1. The hotel, in general, is very outdated. It really needs some touch up. Our room had a nice bathroom upgrade, but the sleeping area was very drab, didn't seem really clean, and had a smoky/musky smell to it. I wasn't really excited about sleeping there. I watched housekeeping from the pool one morning. They were literally in and out of our room in less than 10 minutes!

2. The breakfast buffet is a joke. The juice machine was broken, there was cereal, breads for toasting, bagels and a waffle station. We were in Southern Florida and there wasn't even any fresh fruit!!!! I guess we have been spoiled by the Residence Inn that offers a beautiful FULL breakfast buffet with lots of varieties of eggs, omelets, bacon, sausage, and ALWAYS fresh fruit.

With a little work and some retraining of housekeeping staff, this could be a really quaint place to stay. Until that happens, we will be back at The Residence Inn from now on.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

+ nice and quiet pool area, very well tempereature water + breakfast above average (bagels, cream cheese, cereals, fruit, ...) + nice breakfast area + suitable check out time 12:00 + comfortable bathroom - breakfast ends 09.00 AM from Monday to Friday, therefore very busy - fridge in the room too loud - too many noises from rooms nearby, would recommend to reseve a room in the upper floor

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydenham, ON Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Rolled in here on a Wednesday for a one night stay to check out where we'd be staying in Fort Myers. Ended up staying for 6 nights! The Hotel was clean, comfortable, had a great breakfast buffet, a huge and heated pool and very friendly staff. It's very close to Fort Myers Beach, Sanibel Island and shopping. Loved it and will stay here again for sure!

Room Tip: We stayed in an outside room on the second floor. One king bed, couch, fridge and microwave. Had gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway

Address: 20091 Summerlin Road, Fort Myers, FL 33908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 61 Hotels in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway offers spacious rooms, quality accommodations, and friendly service all in a casual, relaxed atmosphere. We are located minutes from the beaches of Ft Myers Beach, Sanibel and Captiva Island. There are lots of activities to kee...see morep you busy here, from deep sea fishing charters to boat rentals, many of your favorite water activities are within easy reach. There's plenty of shopping nearby for those moments you're away from the beach. Head on back to The La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway and take a dip in our olympic-size heated outdoor pool, relax in the outdoor whirlpool, pump it up in our new fitness center; or how about a game of ping pong. Enjoy a spacious guest room with free high-speed Internet access, mini kitchen, micro refrigerator, and free cable TV. Enjoy our Free Bright Side BreakfastTM each morning featuring make-your-own waffles and more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LaQuinta, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Ft. Myers Hotel Fort Myers
La Quinta Ft Myers
La Quinta Fort Myers
Fort Myers La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.