We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am hanging up my chili pot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Famous Dave's Barbeque

Famous Dave's Barbeque
12148 Cleveland Ave, Fort Myers, FL 33907
239-690-3283
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 652 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I am hanging up my chili pot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

On a golf trip to Fort Meyers 4 of us went to Famous Dave's for their excellent ribs .. fortunately I ordered a bowl of Chili as a starter ... It was absolutely incredibly world class .. THE best that I have ever had (and I am a huge fan of mine!). Well worth the trip to Florida......

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    72
    34
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Superb ribs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

As ribs go, these St. Louis ribs can't be beat. The service was excellent both times we were there. Side dishes were good but nothing special but what would you expect in a BBQ place.
Try the banana pudding which is to die for. But share it with a friend. No ordinary human could eat this much!
Not classy and a little loud but as a rib joint, it just can't be beat.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Sorry forgot to write this last week, I go to famous Dave's every year when I am in ft Myers, this year the ribs were better than I remember not short skinny dried one in the bunch, they all were meaty, tender and all very tasty. Also it is good to see the catfish back.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“True southern barbeque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The pork barbeque is EXCELLENT and the number of sauces available is great. I'm a Memphis barbeque fan and I always go to Dave's when I'm in Fort Myers - consistently fine barbeque. Service is fast and the servers are friendly - a recommended choice for couples or families - you will love it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotonda West, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

as always the food was great, the service super and the price was right. we love this restaurant. we ordered the bbq platter for two people and it was a lot. the brisket was smokey and tender, the pulled pork on a slice of toast was delicious, then the 1/2 a chicken was tender and smokey....... and i cant say enough about the ribs..... nice and lean and meaty, seasoned to perfection, with this came 4 ears of corn, 2 corn muffins, the out of sight pork and beans with big chunks of meat swimming in it..and on top of this a great price........ mmmmmm, so good...... cole slaw was delicious ( i usually pass on the cole slaw, but this one was great).....cant wait to go to fort myers again and yes, pig out...... love it

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's Barbeque also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Famous Dave's Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Famous Dave's Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.