We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Famous Dave's Barbeque

Famous Dave's Barbeque
12148 Cleveland Ave, Fort Myers, FL 33907
239-690-3283
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 650 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Winter Haven, Florida
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fun restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We went with a soccer team- 25 people. Several of the teens ordered the garbage can kid-they loved it- it had something for everyone and enough food for 5 starving boys. Parents had massive delicious nachos, brisket, ga BBQ, and ribs everything was delicious. Prices were good for amount of food. Would definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    49
    26
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pretty good BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Service was good. Food was plentiful. Mac n cheese don't care much for the jalapeño. Wilbur beans ok. Brisket very tender ribs meaty. Overall it was good I will go back

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not Impressed At All”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were there at lunch hours. Not very busy that day. Waitress was a little airheaded, young girl, I ordered a pulled pork dinner, the small one. To my surprise, there was not enough food on the plate to feed my three year old, much less a 225 pound man. They were so chincy with the food and acted like they were giving you gold coins on a plate. I complained, but in a calm manner, and the waitress said that was their policy for a small order.. She brought me another portion of the pulled pork, so at least I got a few more bites out of it. In general, with the dinner I was unimpressed. The two cocktains I had were so sweet, just so-so. The waitress seemed to care less about service.
Hardly any people were in there.
I guess because their high-traffic location brings them customers, I guess they figure they can get away with charging a lot for very little food. The taste of the meal was not excellent, but average for a BarBQue place. We will not be going back, even though they are situated conveniently in the main road.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Expensive for what you get, and noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The sides are two large tablespoons (approx) in a small dish for $2.29 each. A meal is $12.50 which does include two sides. The food is just ok, and for this you have to endure the loud noise. For some reason it has had screaming kids and noisy large groups the two times we have been. Service was ok and there was a willingness to answer questions about the menu, however this is way too expensive for the food quality.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Super Good BBQ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were refereed to Dave's BBQ by relatives that live in the area so we decided to give it a try. I can honestly tell you that this was the best BBQ that any of us have ever had! You won't be disappointed by this restaurant. The food arrived at our table hot and delicious! Prices were reasonable and the service was good. We would defiantly recommend this restaurant and can't wait to go back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's Barbeque also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Famous Dave's Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Famous Dave's Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.