We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way better than a hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pyramids in Florida

Save Saved
You added Pyramids in Florida to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pyramids in Florida
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   7020 Constitution Loop, Fort Myers, FL 33967   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Drinks
Decatur, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Way better than a hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Our stay at the Pyramids really exceeded our expectations. The place was really just as great as the pictures showed. Everything you need is there. And Gertraud was the best! The pool and hot tub were great and available all day and night. The washer/dryer was a nice convenience. Our only complaint is that we like to sleep in a dark room and the bedroom curtains do very little to block the well-lit outside areas. The internet service cost $10 extra and was hit and miss, but my GPS didn't work well either, so there must be some signal reception issue in that location. We vacationed with my sister-in-law and brother-in-law, and it was so much nicer than staying at a hotel. Sure hope we get a chance to stay again next year.

Room Tip: We have stayed in 3 units and they are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    15
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterbury, Vermont
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Your first encounter with Gertrude will set the most pleasant tone for your stay. Our pyramid patio abbutted the "lake" and hot tub. The pyramid was cozy, had everything you would need. It is well located, easy to get to. The only complaint we had is that the curtains in our unit did not block out the outdoor lighting, which remains on all night, and the layout of lights and switches took a bit to get used to. We all decided that we would stay here again.

Room Tip: I would choose a pyramid adjacent to the lake and one with full glass exposure to the lake, it only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012 via mobile

What a great find! Instead of staying in a little hotel room, you can stay in your own house with everything you need!!! Just bring your clothes. Beautiful community with a quiet lake. Each condo not only has a Frig, washer/ dryer/ stove, etc. It has its own grill, patio area, beach towels, etc. Gertrude was so nice and friendly. My husband and I took my son and parents for a relaxing vacation and there was plenty of room for all five of us. If you don't want to here noisy neighbors in a little hotel room, then stay here!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallmadge, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed 12/30/11 through 1/7/12 and were so pleased with Pyramid Village. We arrived quite late, after 9:45 p.m., and Gertraud, the manager, was there to greet us with a warm smile, a personal tour of the unit, and instructions to "now go to sleep and we will settle everything else in the morning."

We had a two BR, one bath unit, and it was equipped with everything you can imagine, right down to spices in the cupboard. Even beach towels and wine glasses were handy, thoughtful items included. The unit had fridge, stove, microwave, dishwasher, AND washer and dryer, which was so welcomed to avoid schlepping dirty laundry back on a long trip. It also has two patios (one off the downstairs BR and one outside the main entrance to the pyramid), and the larger patio has a gas grill for your use. Just check the gas tank before planning to cook, as you are responsible for filling the tank if it's low. Not a problem for us, but I did notice ours was low.

The upstairs is one complete, spacious bedroom, complete with desk, couch, nightstands, and TV, with lots and lots of room left over to walk around.

On New Years Eve, Gertraud and staff put on a lovely party, starting at 11:00 p.m., complete with hats, music, and lots of traditional Austrian food. It was held by the pool at the adjoining "tiki bar" and was so lovely with colored lights, wonderful toasts, and welcoming staff.

We did not use the pool/pond as the weather was a little too cool for our preferences for swimming, but we did sit in the sun by the pool, and it's quiet and well-equipped with chaises and chairs. The only thing that could be added would be small chairside tables for drinks, but that was not a big deal.

This village is nestled in the middle of a residential area, about 10 miles north of Bonita Springs, and 20 miles to Fort Myers Beach, so it may not meet everyone's needs for a vacation rental. However, for our purposes it was perfect as we were visiting friends in both Bonita and Fort Myers Beach and Punta Gorda. Also, its location offers proximity to lots of retail stores for everyday needs such as pharmacies, Walmart, grocery store, and lots and lots of restaurants, both chains and locally owned.

Parking was plentiful and right in front of each individual unit.

Some have commented on the light on the property being troublesome for sleep. It is lighter than what we are used to; however, we used the clothespins we found in the well-supplied kitchen drawers to slip the curtains shut at night. The property is very well-lighted, so perhaps some pyramids are more situated toward the security lights, but this situation did not disturb us. I'd rather have the security lights!

The grounds are well maintained and manicured. A short "jungle walk" surrounds the little village (about a quarter-mile around).

The other residents during our stay were almost all European, and we wish we had had a little more time to talk with them. The neighbors we did meet have been returning for four years, so it speaks well for the service and upkeep provided for the Village.

The only think we'd add to the unit is a DVD player. The unit has a CD player/radio and a combo TV/VCR (in the upstairs BR), but a DVD player would be most welcome for quiet nights in. We did go out and buy an inexpensive one to use while we were there. It was easy to hook up to the TV. TV itself is cable and has extensive channel listings.

Room Tip: For more privacy (especially on the patios), ask for one of the units away from the pool area (acros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Stay from: July 28 - August, 4 2011

Check by Joseph had gone smoothly. We noticed that he doesn’t speak English well, but for us we have no problem with it. With our a little German we can make ourselves understood.
The house is what we found on the website.
When checking the house, everything went well.

Disadvantage:
1) Internet, we had to pay an amount of 10.00 USD, and we don’t have a good connection.
2) local telephone calls are not possible.

Kitchen: We have to say that the necessities in the kitchen are more than we used to in America. We can find everything in the house, especially the kitchen accessories.
That makes it easier for us and we feel right at home. We need to think of anything, which makes it doubly worth!
Bedroom: pillows were too flat, we are accustomed to higher pillows.
Livingroom: we found cockroaches but that should not spoil our vacation.
Environment is perfect, quiet and well kept pool by Joseph, it makes it great.

The architecture/construction: my husband is so fond of the architecture of the house. It speaks to him! Our son is also hooked the big tiger stuffed animal, which lay on the first floor. Immediately he played with it and the whole holiday he slept with the stuffed tiger.
What I found so great, is that my parents could sleep downstairs.

We were fortunate, as a family, that our son is very enjoying himself and happy.

Every time he pointed to us that we must come back here. Same house to rent, of course, the big tiger cuddly toy. And so beautiful, we also inform the owner must pass: ‘the same house and the tiger should not be dumped, is his request’.

What was disappointing was that we could not call to Naples. With the thought that we could call relatives no matter, proved not to be!
The Wi-Fi connection was not optimal. To solve this we have always bothered Joseph to restart the connection. Occasionally we are out to get connected! But that could not spoil our vacation.

What we also found very attentive and loving, is the lady who cleans the houses. I could use her mobile phone to call a family in Naples. Super and many thanks!

When checking out, Joseph is visited to check. We have returned nice our cash deposit. We must say that he is trying real hard. He keeps the area very neat and clean. We have also helped to make everything tidy in the house: emptying trash cans and towels and bath towels in the laundry are also done. It is worthwhile, so we don’t mind just to help the lady that clean the houses.

It is important that our stay, we have felt at home and enjoyed at Pyramid Village.

One and all for the price is worth it and we will definitely return next time!
And preferably in the same house with the large cuddly tiger for our son!

Thanks Joseph, cleaner and Gertraud.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We found this place with no trouble, and our pyramid was excellent, very well equipped, lit and ventilated, and therefore very refreshing and relaxing as aimed to do.

Swimming pool is excellent, warm, not too deep, easy to swim in, absolutely brilliant.

Gentleman in charge during the week was very helpful, and efficient despite the language barrier.

Did not sleep well due to outdoor lighting, and unhelpful curtains.

Lots of wildlife, is quite interesting. Very relaxing place

Was not too fond of the payment system, as we had to fork out our rental money and deposit in cash as there was no credit card paymethod available, and were unable to pay in advance.

Room Tip: Good for long stays e.g. a week, two weeks
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

I booked the pyramids based on the other reviews here,and I must say we will not be back. Upon first entrance the pyramid was clean, and decorated very beautifully.We knew it would be small based on pictures posted here, however the 2nd floor was bigger than we expected and easily accommodated our party of 2 adults and 3 kids(between 9 and 14). The "lake" was very big and looked enjoyable, although we did not go in. All the pyramids are built around the lake, and because of this there are alot of bugs! The wireless internet is an extra fee and we were not aware of this. The beds were too hard for our taste.The manager did not speak English very well, and we had a plumbing issue which was very difficult to explain because of the language barrier and ultimately we were not able to explain what actually took place, without being accused of something. Later, we found lots of termites, (which I mistook for ants originally), we knew we could not explain this because of language barrier, so we left a full day early and didnt even bother to try to get our money back for the day we were not staying,(and it was not offered) because we wanted to get out so bad and get away from the bugs! i really truly think the pyramid we were in was the bad one because I don't see how all the reviews could be so good, if everyone experienced what we did.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pyramids in Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pyramids in Florida

Address: 7020 Constitution Loop, Fort Myers, FL 33967
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty lodging in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pyramids in Florida 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pyramids in Florida is a resort with remarkably shaped and worldwide unique chalets. In the sunny southwest Florida atmosphere 24 Pyramids allow unlimited rental opportunities.Located only a stone‘s throw away from San Carlos Golf Club and within a short drive from Lovers Key Resort, Sanibel Island and Bonita Beach at the Gulf Coast.Each Pyramid is light-flooded and charmingly furnished, featuring two bedrooms, a comfortable living room, and a fully equipped kitchen. On the beautiful terrace, you are provided with an outdoor dining area, deck-chairs and a BBQ.A huge natural outdoor pool forms the center of the resort, surrounded by a botanical walk with marvellous tropical plants. Enjoy cooling drinks at the Tiki-Bar, have fun at the beach volleyball court and relax in the hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Pyramids in Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pyramid Village Hotel Fort Myers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pyramids in Florida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.