We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History in downtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burroughs Home & Gardens

Burroughs Home & Gardens
2505 First Street, Fort Myers, FL 33901
239 337-0706
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 52 attractions in Fort Myers
Type: Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Built in 1901, this Georgian Revival Mansion was the scene of many social events that hosted the Fort Myers' elite including the Edisons, Fords, and Firestones. Antique furnishings, historical artifacts, and delightful tales of growing up as the privileged daughters of wealthy businessman Nelson Burroughs and his wife Adeline await visitors who want to take a step back in time.Living History Tours are available Tuesday-Friday at 11:00am for $12. Walk-ins are welcome.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“History in downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

This home speaks charm with a gem nestled in down town along the water. The interior is beautiful, well maintained exterior with wrap around porch and gardens.

Downside is tours are Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday at 11am only. But they do host weddings!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Rude Reception”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I had a groupon for this historic place. No where did it specify that you have to take a tour of the home and only at specific times. We were late for the last tour and the woman was quite rude to us feeling that we were some kind of morons for not knowing that you have to take a guided tour. We never did go back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALEXANDRIA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Tour an Old-Time Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We enjoyed the tour through the Burroughs Home in Fort Myers. Only one tour is presented per day, $12 per adult, at 11am, and guests cannot walk through on their own. Check the website to ensure the home is open the day you plan to visit. Parking is across the street, behind the brick house.

The docent who provided our tour did an excellent job presenting details of the origination of this home and the Burroughs family who owned it for so many years. The tour includes the main floor, second floor, and servants quarters on the third floor, along with a walk through the grounds, right on the river. The tour lasts about 1.5 hours. Much of the original furniture is gone (damaged in storage after hurricane) but many period items have been donated, so the home is interesting and lovely!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Definitely worthwhile!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Don't miss this gem because it's not open every day. Many historic homes can no longer afford to be open daily. I found the hours for tours on their website. That said, full disclosure, this is one of my favorite historic homes and I've toured many over the years. This was my second visit to the Burroughs home, the first time was about 15 years ago. There is something very charming about it. This house is a fine example of elegant grandeur without being extravagant or ostentatious. The staircase is unique and photography is allowed throughout the house. This is one of the few homes of this size that allows you to tour the 3rd floor. The first time I visited it we were not allowed on the 3rd floor, but we bribed our tour guide with an additional donation to the house and he took us up after the regular tour:)

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Never open. Skip it.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

You may drive all of the way here to find it closed. It is not open very often. I couldn't find literature so had no idea it wasn't open regular hours.
There was a lady there, but she wouldn't even let us walk on the porch and peek in.
We drove all the way from Naples to see this home. A lady in a historical center told us about it. Minimal advertising. I am sure they don't advertise, because they are closed more often than not.
Fortunately there was an art show in Ft. Myers so plenty to do. Good restaurants too. You may drive by this, but don't expect to go in. You think they would be open during a major festival.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burroughs Home & Gardens also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Burroughs Home & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burroughs Home & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Burroughs Home & Gardens to your Saves list