We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Hike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve

Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve
7791 Penzance Blvd, Fort Myers, FL 33966
239-533-7550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 33 Attractions in Fort Myers
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
jludacka
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Family Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Cheap alternative on vacation that provides exercise, adventure, and family bonding. Parking is cheap. The staff was friendly. Unfortunately, I didn't get to see "Big Al." But it was still fun seeing the other wildlife. I think there was only one bathroom at the entrance, so make sure to plan ahead. Definitely would like to stop again in the future. Worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    139
    24
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic nature. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

If you are in to nature and wildlife, grab your camera and get out there.
Me and my girlfriend ended up spending 3 hours walking around, almost alone.
It was exiting for us Norwegians to se this kind of nature and wildlife.
Thanks to you that makes this possible. For free!

Tip: Move slovly and quiet, bring a binocular and your camera. You might come close to some spectacular wildlife.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Back to Nature, Florida Style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Out photo club took a trip to 6 Mile Cypress Slough. As a first time visitor I did not know what to expect. What a wonderful surprise. The boardwalk wound through some of the most fascinating habitat areas. My advise is to walk slowly and make sure you look right, left, up and down. You never know what you might come across. We were fortunate to go at a time when the wildlife was out and about. Besides the chance sightings of birds, snakes, squirrels, alligators, and otters, you will enjoy the beauty of the mysterious cypress trees. Perfect opportunity to see the wilderness that Florida once was. There is no admission fee but you do have a small parking fee. A guided tour is available or you can borrow a guide book and explore on your own. Very enjoyable time!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haliburton, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very well done "Friends of 6 Mile ..."”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The Friends of Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve have done an excellent job. The slough is a fantastic sample of the cypress slough habitat right in the midst of developed Florida. It has lovely boardwalk system that makes navigation around the trails easy and safe. There is no charge for entry but there is a charge for parking ($1/hr).

A lot of wildlife is visible from the boardwalks and the frequent expanded seating areas and lookouts. Crocs are common. Otter, turtles, wading birds, woodpeckers, songbirds are found throughout the preserve. Signage lets you know the special features of the area and volunteer guides/interpreters are located at highlight points.

One small complaint is that the boardwalks tend to be on the narrow side, making it sometimes a squeeze to let people past. This is especially a concern for photographers who may hope to set up a tripod and photograph at their leisure. The place is quite busy on most days so this can be an issue for photographers. For them it's best to show up at dawn to beat the crowds and take advantage of the early morning sweet light.

There are good washrooms and a nice interpretive centre with all the information you might want about the preserve. The place is very affordable, conveniently located and well organized. Definitely worth a visit for most folks.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent tour of nature and at a fantastic price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We visited Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve today. It was a great natural walk and learning opportunity. The key is to take your time, look in every direction and most importantly, be quite! We saw many birds, wild pigs, snakes, alligators, frogs, fish and turtles. You really have to take your time and look and listen. they do have free guided tours available but we missed it. There was a women at one of the pond areas and she had many things to view and a ton of knowledge. She was extremely nice and informative. This cost us $2 for parking and we are considering going back again during our vacation to see what else we find! Our children loved it and so did we!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.