We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice change of pace!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve

Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve
7791 Penzance Blvd, Fort Myers, FL 33966
239-533-7550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 52 attractions in Fort Myers
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice change of pace!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

I have to admit when my wife suggested going here I wanted nothing to do with it. I'm adventurous and really wanted to take the kids on an airboat tour, but I reluctantly was persuaded to check this place out. Who can argue with the $1.00 price tag right??

We went and walked the one plus mile boardwalk trail and it was a nice relaxing change to always being on the go. We saw three alligators, a couple of snakes, many turtles, birds, fish, lizards, etc. After getting there I think I enjoyed it more than she did. The kids enjoyed it as well, but my 7 year old son was a little bored by the end. It really only takes about an hour or so to walk through, but you could stay hours if you wanted. It did get a little warm so I would go earlier in the morning if you're going to visit during the summer months. I would think the animals would be more active too. Overall a really nice place and you can't beat the price!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    117
    21
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Philadelphia, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was only $1.00 to park. We saw more here than the $100.00 we spent on the airboat ride. It is a wood walking trail with lots of cypress trees and ferns. We saw alligators in the large pond. We also saw wild baby pigs and a small alligator watching them. There were plenty of birds, turtles and even snake skins! Plenty of wildlife! A must do, skip the airboat ride!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem of Biodiversity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is a favorite nature experience in Florida because it is the ideal daily walk with wildlife. Pay extra for parking to help offset costs, because this is the only charge. A dedicated group of volunteers have brought their energy and knowlege to our service. They guide us through the beautiful facility, including a fine nature center and gift shop. You may even meet a wonderful childrens' book author and political cartoonist who will autograph his children's book about the Slough, pronounced "Slew."

Be prepared on your visits to see fascinating flora, many types of water fowl, turtles, snakes, alligators, and even those destructive feral pigs.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“TripAdvisor Guided Us the Right Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This really isn't in a lot of brochures or talking points of local travel experts, but it really should be. We put $2 in the parking meter and didn't pay a single dime more for this great experience. The entire boardwalk is 1.2 miles (there are a couple of cutoffs if you needed to make it shorter). It is easily stroller or wheelchair friendly. Speak softly, turn off your cell phones, and walk slowly. You'll see a diverse ecosystem of both animals and plants. This is a must see, even if the map vendors leave it off.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Would not have found this without tripadvisor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had a couple of hours to spare on our drive from marco island to tampa so we looked for things to do on tripadvisor. The six mile cypress slough preserve came up as a top suggestion so we stopped by. It turned out to be the highlight of our trip. As others have said, you can't beat the price - only $1 for parking but I would have gladly paid $20 for admission.

We walked though the preserve on a raised boardwalk which was very easy to navigate. On our walk, which took about an hour including short stops along the way, we saw a few alligators, egrets, woodpeckers, herons, baby wild boars, turtles and much more.

Definitely worth stopping by.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve to your Saves list