We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem of Biodiversity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve

Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve
7791 Penzance Blvd, Fort Myers, FL 33966
239-533-7550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 52 Attractions in Fort Myers
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem of Biodiversity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is a favorite nature experience in Florida because it is the ideal daily walk with wildlife. Pay extra for parking to help offset costs, because this is the only charge. A dedicated group of volunteers have brought their energy and knowlege to our service. They guide us through the beautiful facility, including a fine nature center and gift shop. You may even meet a wonderful childrens' book author and political cartoonist who will autograph his children's book about the Slough, pronounced "Slew."

Be prepared on your visits to see fascinating flora, many types of water fowl, turtles, snakes, alligators, and even those destructive feral pigs.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    125
    21
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“TripAdvisor Guided Us the Right Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This really isn't in a lot of brochures or talking points of local travel experts, but it really should be. We put $2 in the parking meter and didn't pay a single dime more for this great experience. The entire boardwalk is 1.2 miles (there are a couple of cutoffs if you needed to make it shorter). It is easily stroller or wheelchair friendly. Speak softly, turn off your cell phones, and walk slowly. You'll see a diverse ecosystem of both animals and plants. This is a must see, even if the map vendors leave it off.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Would not have found this without tripadvisor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had a couple of hours to spare on our drive from marco island to tampa so we looked for things to do on tripadvisor. The six mile cypress slough preserve came up as a top suggestion so we stopped by. It turned out to be the highlight of our trip. As others have said, you can't beat the price - only $1 for parking but I would have gladly paid $20 for admission.

We walked though the preserve on a raised boardwalk which was very easy to navigate. On our walk, which took about an hour including short stops along the way, we saw a few alligators, egrets, woodpeckers, herons, baby wild boars, turtles and much more.

Definitely worth stopping by.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit. Put this on your list of places to see.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We visited this place and really enjoyed the walk through the winding boardwalk throughout the preserve. Got to see alligators and countless snakes, birds, turtles and other wildlife. Can't beat the price either. $1.00 for parking and that was it!! I recommend trying this place out.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“A Real Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We parked our car and put money in the machine but it seems to be an honour system as we never saw a ranger or any park official the whole time we were there. The boardwalk is a mile long and is well maintained and clean unlike some we have tried. Walk slowly and softly and keep your voice down and you will be rewarded by the wild life you will see. Take bottled water with you and apply insect repellent before you start. Everywhere you look you will find things to interest and the whole park is a haven of peace and tranquillity. A small bird guide book and a pair of binoculars will add to your enjoyment of the park. There are several different ecosystems brimming with flora and fauna .

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.