We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to visit. Put this on your list of places to see.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve

Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve
7791 Penzance Blvd, Fort Myers, FL 33966
239-533-7550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 51 Attractions in Fort Myers
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Elgin, Illinois, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit. Put this on your list of places to see.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We visited this place and really enjoyed the walk through the winding boardwalk throughout the preserve. Got to see alligators and countless snakes, birds, turtles and other wildlife. Can't beat the price either. $1.00 for parking and that was it!! I recommend trying this place out.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    125
    21
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“A Real Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We parked our car and put money in the machine but it seems to be an honour system as we never saw a ranger or any park official the whole time we were there. The boardwalk is a mile long and is well maintained and clean unlike some we have tried. Walk slowly and softly and keep your voice down and you will be rewarded by the wild life you will see. Take bottled water with you and apply insect repellent before you start. Everywhere you look you will find things to interest and the whole park is a haven of peace and tranquillity. A small bird guide book and a pair of binoculars will add to your enjoyment of the park. There are several different ecosystems brimming with flora and fauna .

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Place to enjoy nature for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Tired of the endless strip malls? Then this is just the place for you... You'll spot for sure fish, turtles, birds of all sizes and most likely at least an alligator. It is fun to walk on the boardwalk, mostly in the shade of trees and when you teach your kids to listen to the silence, you'll hear nature talk (and traffic noise in the distance!). Vegetation is with mentioning as we'll. You'll have to see for yourselves, go there

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good for a bit of time out in nature...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had abit of time to pass so walked through this area. I enjoyed the lifted walkways and the decks around watering holes / ponds. We saw some animals - cranes, birds, squirrels, fish and even some wild boars. The boars seemed totally disinterested / unphased with us being there - probably just desensitized with some many travellers. The boardwalks pass through a number of smaller eco-systems and give you a good perspective of what is in the bush there. Bugs were not bad when we went through (April) but expect will be later on in the season. Overall it was good for a visit and something different.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best Lee County eco tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Walk entirely on a raised boardwak over wetlands with mangroves, magnificant cypress and other tropical plants. Very shady so it is pleasant even on hot summer days. Pond overlooks with very interesting wildlife.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.