We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a bit of time out in nature...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve

Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve
7791 Penzance Blvd, Fort Myers, FL 33966
239-533-7550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 33 Attractions in Fort Myers
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Toronto
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good for a bit of time out in nature...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had abit of time to pass so walked through this area. I enjoyed the lifted walkways and the decks around watering holes / ponds. We saw some animals - cranes, birds, squirrels, fish and even some wild boars. The boars seemed totally disinterested / unphased with us being there - probably just desensitized with some many travellers. The boardwalks pass through a number of smaller eco-systems and give you a good perspective of what is in the bush there. Bugs were not bad when we went through (April) but expect will be later on in the season. Overall it was good for a visit and something different.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    139
    24
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best Lee County eco tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Walk entirely on a raised boardwak over wetlands with mangroves, magnificant cypress and other tropical plants. Very shady so it is pleasant even on hot summer days. Pond overlooks with very interesting wildlife.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not just a park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This park is not just your average park. The walk on the decks is teriffic. So much to see and so well maintained. Inside is just wonderful. So much great information on the park and the surrounding area. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

It was a nice nature walk. I really enjoyed it. Did see a small gator which was the reason I went to Florida. Can't wait to go back

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Saw small gators, wonder where the big ones where.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We took the Wednesday morning guided walk with Jamie who knew her stuff and was passionate about the reserve and so full of information. Well worth the visit, we spent a lovely couple of hours in this peaceful spot. I would love to return another time and see how the area is affected by the seasons but we live 3000 miles away, if you live closer give this place a visit.

Entry free, car par $1 per hour. Recommend 2 hours for the tour and longer if you are on your own and can take it at your own leisurely pace.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.