We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great respite through peaceful nature.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve

Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve
7791 Penzance Blvd, Fort Myers, FL 33966
239-533-7550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 36 Attractions in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Nature & wildlife areas, Nature & Parks
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great respite through peaceful nature.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We loved this peaceful break from the city. We saw a lot of wildlife! Pigs, alligators, birds, fish, turtles, and more. The trees were swaying in the breeze and we all loved the peacefulness of it. Took a lot of pictures. The boardwalk was immaculate and not at all crowded. Loved it and glad to have visited.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    172
    31
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Tucked away but worth finding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This park was a real find. The volunteer at the welcome center was so friendly. We walked the entire boardwalk and, boy, what a boardwalk! It stretches for about 2 miles and has several spurs that lead to isolated wetlands with overlooks. It must have cost a fortune to build but it really is a wonderful treat (Thanks, Lee County taxpayers!). There were many wading birds and waterfowl throughout the park as well as lizards, turtles, alligators, feral pigs, and an otter! In addition to the wild animals, the plants were fascinating and you can learn a lot about both in the self-guided walk booklet that is free at the trailhead.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Excellent spot for reptilian wildlife and birds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Really beautiful nature preserve with a few different ponds, trail is on a boardwalk. 10 and 7 yr olds loved it. Saw 9 alligators altogether, a ton of turtles, 2 snakes, quite a few lizards and fish, and a lot of birds. Bring binoculars! Without them, we definitely would not have seen all the gators. We went midday and still saw a lot, though I read morning might be best. They also have a bathroom.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nature Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This 1 mile boardwalk through the Cypress swamp area was a gem of Florida nature. While we saw many different birds, alligators and turtles the highlight was seeing the wild black hogs and the three babies that live in the deep swamp area. This is free and fun and you get to walk with Mother Nature.....try to include it on your trip!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed the Slough.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had a cold weather front come in while we visited the area. That meant that we needed to find some activities besides the beach. This one was very good.

Very well maintained boardwalk tour of a few different ponds and Cypress swamp areas. About a 1.2 mile walk. We say lots of wildlife including gators, turtles, many types of birds and lots of interesting and beautiful plants.

Our kids liked it and we had a nice lunch at the picnic tables near the parking area.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.