We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked away but worth finding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve

Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve
7791 Penzance Blvd, Fort Myers, FL 33966
239-533-7550
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$159*
and up
Small-Group Tour: Everglades Adventure Day Trip...
Ranked #3 of 93 things to do in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Tucked away but worth finding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This park was a real find. The volunteer at the welcome center was so friendly. We walked the entire boardwalk and, boy, what a boardwalk! It stretches for about 2 miles and has several spurs that lead to isolated wetlands with overlooks. It must have cost a fortune to build but it really is a wonderful treat (Thanks, Lee County taxpayers!). There were many wading birds and waterfowl throughout the park as well as lizards, turtles, alligators, feral pigs, and an otter! In addition to the wild animals, the plants were fascinating and you can learn a lot about both in the self-guided walk booklet that is free at the trailhead.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lowlander46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent spot for reptilian wildlife and birds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Really beautiful nature preserve with a few different ponds, trail is on a boardwalk. 10 and 7 yr olds loved it. Saw 9 alligators altogether, a ton of turtles, 2 snakes, quite a few lizards and fish, and a lot of birds. Bring binoculars! Without them, we definitely would not have seen all the gators. We went midday and still saw a lot, though I read morning might be best. They also have a bathroom.

Helpful?
1 Thank Katvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nature Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This 1 mile boardwalk through the Cypress swamp area was a gem of Florida nature. While we saw many different birds, alligators and turtles the highlight was seeing the wild black hogs and the three babies that live in the deep swamp area. This is free and fun and you get to walk with Mother Nature.....try to include it on your trip!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alpLewes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed the Slough.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had a cold weather front come in while we visited the area. That meant that we needed to find some activities besides the beach. This one was very good.

Very well maintained boardwalk tour of a few different ponds and Cypress swamp areas. About a 1.2 mile walk. We say lots of wildlife including gators, turtles, many types of birds and lots of interesting and beautiful plants.

Our kids liked it and we had a nice lunch at the picnic tables near the parking area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful! A great stroll through nature.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We saw turtles, alligators, all kinds of birds and even a snake eating a frog! My kids absolutely loved it.

Helpful?
Thank richterfamily98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing