We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed the Slough.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve

Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve
7791 Penzance Blvd, Fort Myers, FL 33966
239-533-7550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 51 Attractions in Fort Myers
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed the Slough.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had a cold weather front come in while we visited the area. That meant that we needed to find some activities besides the beach. This one was very good.

Very well maintained boardwalk tour of a few different ponds and Cypress swamp areas. About a 1.2 mile walk. We say lots of wildlife including gators, turtles, many types of birds and lots of interesting and beautiful plants.

Our kids liked it and we had a nice lunch at the picnic tables near the parking area.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    125
    21
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful! A great stroll through nature.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We saw turtles, alligators, all kinds of birds and even a snake eating a frog! My kids absolutely loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cicero, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Easy Walk to View A Variety of Wild Life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This park has a board walk that takes you around the park in a logical way to view a variety of wild life and beautiful native plants and trees. The brochure provided on the trail is informative. Take your time, and look all around - you are well above the "wild life" below and around you. There were several opportunities to see gators safely, as well as beautiful and varied birds. There is a wonderful visitor center, and convenient rest rooms. Bug spray is helpful if it is humid, and a bottle of water is all you need to enjoy the easy board walk trail.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice boardwalk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Very nice stroll through the swamp on elevated boardwalk, even though you can hear traffic noise. We went mid afternoon though and didn't see many animals, probably better early morning for sightings.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spring grove, il
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great time - Lots of wildlife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Such a wonderful visit here! We saw gators up close, turtles, fish and lots of interesting birds. It is a really beautiful peaceful place. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.