We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a peaceful place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve

Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve
7791 Penzance Blvd, Fort Myers, FL 33966
239-533-7550
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$159*
and up
Small-Group Tour: Everglades Adventure Day Trip...
Ranked #3 of 94 things to do in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a peaceful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I had very stressful year and coming here helped us relax - fresh air, still water and subtle twitting of birds are so calming. Very clean place and so afordable. Perfect for kids and those who look for some quiet time in the nature.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxana300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We visited this site for te first time last January/ February and really enjoyed ourselves. We even saw 2 wild boars digging in the growth under the boardwalk. Really a great time.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great wildlife preserve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Visited December 28th as it was not a beach weather type of day. The only cost is to park and that is a reasonable $1.00 per hour.
The boardwalk is well maintained as are the look out points. We saw a baby alligator sitting by the water and other folks mentioned there was another one there too, but I could not see it from where I was standing. Lots of different birds, including a woodpecker that you could hear better than see without the aid if binoculars.
Our visit was cut short due to rain, but my husband had visited in October and saw wild black pigs, turtles and a large adult alligator.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank NLO888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, On
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Six Mile Cypress in December”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Didn't see a lot of wildlife, but that's luck of the draw - appearances aren't scheduled or guaranteed! Boardwalk is well-maintained and a pleasant walk in any case. I didn't check out the interpretive centre but I heard it was nice. We took about 2 hours to walk the long trail and enjoyed it very much. Would definitely check it out again if we are in the area.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank plumloco04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Forget Zoos go to this Preserve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We have been here with our three Kids mid december. It was one of the nicest experiences we had. We spotted a lot of wildlife e.g. Eagles, Alligators, Snakes (Cottonmouth), Turtles, Heron, Squirrels, Fish, Anhingas. It was an amazing afternoon. we really recommend this place. The best: no entrance fee.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Catman1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing