We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful spot to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve

Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve
7791 Penzance Blvd, Fort Myers, FL 33966
239-533-7550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 51 Attractions in Fort Myers
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We visited this site for te first time last January/ February and really enjoyed ourselves. We even saw 2 wild boars digging in the growth under the boardwalk. Really a great time.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    128
    21
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great wildlife preserve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Visited December 28th as it was not a beach weather type of day. The only cost is to park and that is a reasonable $1.00 per hour.
The boardwalk is well maintained as are the look out points. We saw a baby alligator sitting by the water and other folks mentioned there was another one there too, but I could not see it from where I was standing. Lots of different birds, including a woodpecker that you could hear better than see without the aid if binoculars.
Our visit was cut short due to rain, but my husband had visited in October and saw wild black pigs, turtles and a large adult alligator.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, On
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Six Mile Cypress in December”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Didn't see a lot of wildlife, but that's luck of the draw - appearances aren't scheduled or guaranteed! Boardwalk is well-maintained and a pleasant walk in any case. I didn't check out the interpretive centre but I heard it was nice. We took about 2 hours to walk the long trail and enjoyed it very much. Would definitely check it out again if we are in the area.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Forget Zoos go to this Preserve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We have been here with our three Kids mid december. It was one of the nicest experiences we had. We spotted a lot of wildlife e.g. Eagles, Alligators, Snakes (Cottonmouth), Turtles, Heron, Squirrels, Fish, Anhingas. It was an amazing afternoon. we really recommend this place. The best: no entrance fee.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place to see nature.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Don't go on a super hot day but the trails are great. We saw lots of wildlife, mostly birds, and came close and personal with the cypress swamp.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.