We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature at your doorstep” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve

Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve
7791 Penzance Blvd, Fort Myers, FL 33966
239-533-7550
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$159*
and up
Small-Group Tour: Everglades Adventure Day Trip...
Ranked #3 of 92 things to do in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Michigan
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nature at your doorstep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stopped here while on vacation and took one of the 9:30 AM guided walks, It was a great escape from the hustle of Route 41. Our guide was a retired teacher, and she obviously loved sharing her favorite swamp with others. We saw many birds, 3 baby gators, turtles...and that was just the wildlife. The guide also gave excellent descriptions of the plant life and how the park came to be.

If we were to spend more time in the Fort Myers area, the boardwalks here would see us on a fairly frequent basis. The "green building" that is the interpretive center is another tour in itself!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanner08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Mahomet, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Swamp!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you like swamps, this is your place. Long boardwalk through a cypress swamp. I saw aligators, cottenmouth water moccasin, and lots of birds.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Les P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown
Level Contributor
136 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My friend is a photographer. This was a really nice place to take pictures. Very peaceful. We saw a lot of different animals. I would recommend this for families. Since it is a preserve you never know what kind of animals you will see!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandyctown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“amazing visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Living less than two miles from the park, it took us 3 months to take a visit; however, it will not be that long till we return. Great 1-2 mile walk, many gators, birds, etc; all housed in a beautiful cypress forest. The learning center is also a great resource for small children and the staff are quite friendly

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank C_N_1_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Always worth a trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We have visited with young children to teens and all have been captivated by something. It is a great walk among a variety of ecosystems, and the birding is a delight. We always leave with hundreds of pictures between the family's many cameras.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank HighMooring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#