We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swamp!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve

Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve
7791 Penzance Blvd, Fort Myers, FL 33966
239-533-7550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 86 things to do in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Mahomet, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Swamp!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you like swamps, this is your place. Long boardwalk through a cypress swamp. I saw aligators, cottenmouth water moccasin, and lots of birds.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    610
    213
    39
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlestown
Level Contributor
117 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My friend is a photographer. This was a really nice place to take pictures. Very peaceful. We saw a lot of different animals. I would recommend this for families. Since it is a preserve you never know what kind of animals you will see!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“amazing visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Living less than two miles from the park, it took us 3 months to take a visit; however, it will not be that long till we return. Great 1-2 mile walk, many gators, birds, etc; all housed in a beautiful cypress forest. The learning center is also a great resource for small children and the staff are quite friendly

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always worth a trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We have visited with young children to teens and all have been captivated by something. It is a great walk among a variety of ecosystems, and the birding is a delight. We always leave with hundreds of pictures between the family's many cameras.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“one of the best boardwalks we visited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Definitely worth visiting as very quiet and saw lots of wildlife. If you visit later towards the end of the day you will see all the birds coming in to roost over the large lake.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.