We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve

Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve
7791 Penzance Blvd, Fort Myers, FL 33966
239-533-7550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 33 Attractions in Fort Myers
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Charlestown
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My friend is a photographer. This was a really nice place to take pictures. Very peaceful. We saw a lot of different animals. I would recommend this for families. Since it is a preserve you never know what kind of animals you will see!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    141
    24
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“amazing visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Living less than two miles from the park, it took us 3 months to take a visit; however, it will not be that long till we return. Great 1-2 mile walk, many gators, birds, etc; all housed in a beautiful cypress forest. The learning center is also a great resource for small children and the staff are quite friendly

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always worth a trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We have visited with young children to teens and all have been captivated by something. It is a great walk among a variety of ecosystems, and the birding is a delight. We always leave with hundreds of pictures between the family's many cameras.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“one of the best boardwalks we visited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Definitely worth visiting as very quiet and saw lots of wildlife. If you visit later towards the end of the day you will see all the birds coming in to roost over the large lake.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Myers
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Native Nature - well preserved”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

New to the area, it was fun to explore and experience the serene boardwalk paths of the slough (pron. "slew"). Feral black pigs are the most common sighting, and biggest pest to preserving the preserve. The renovated main building is lovely, offering alot of educational information on the native eco system, and has a expansive deck with picturesque views, worth bring your journal for. I had the privilege of taking a yoga class there - - AWESOME.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.