We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makes for a Great Impromptu Adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve

Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve
7791 Penzance Blvd, Fort Myers, FL 33966
239-533-7550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 51 Attractions in Fort Myers
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Makes for a Great Impromptu Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Dad and I weren't sure what exactly to expect when we walked the slough last summer. In fact, neither of us had given the place much notice on our frequent walks along Six Mile Cyprus. In the end, it turned out to be a great detour. The boardwalk trail made for great phone photo ops and the atmosphere was amazing. In all it wasn’t too long or too short of a self-guided tour. All in all, it’s a very relaxing retreat on less occupied days that will make you work up a bit of a sweet, and enjoy every minute of it. It’s definitely a place adults will enjoy more than some children because of the serenity and slow pace. Still, it has the potential to be the best outing for your family when done right. There’s plenty to learn in the slough.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    128
    21
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Pretty.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Nice, peaceful nature walk. Relaxing and grounding. Not too big, not too small. Good little outing, more for adults and the silence of nature is enjoyable. Occasionally seen some wild pigs, and a few other animals. It's a nice walk to calm your mind.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My grandson loves this and makes the visit every year. Has seen many animals etc. and always is happy to return.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We loved the boardwalk trail. Special place. It was a quick hike with several resting points and viewing stations. Very clean!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“love the Slough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

we park and walk there 2 to 3 times a week. We feels safe and secure there. the parking is $1.00 for an hour and that is how long it takes us to walk. we walk to stay in shape and there are no really safe places here in this area. It is all boardwalk and shaded.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Mile Cypress Slough Preserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.