We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homestyle meals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mel's Diner Fort Myers

Mel's Diner Fort Myers
4820 S Cleveland Ave, Fort Myers, FL 33907-1320
239-275-7850
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 649 restaurants in Fort Myers
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Homestyle meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

A bad experience here must be the rare occasion. This is a nice Diner!
The menu selection a bit overwhelming...a little of everything. Great for a family
meal outing. Portions large & prices Not. Food has always been good. They
stay rather busy because of it. Haven't had a service complaint. Good location,
main highway & in town for shopping & such. Parking ample.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    141
    81
    33
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Dover
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Terrific until the main course”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We tried Mel's Diner today for the first time. We had a Groupon.
My husband and I both wanted a good meal so we ordered the $20 dinner for 2. It's a limited menu, and the bbq meatloaf sounded good. We also added two beverages at $2.19 each with refills included.,
At first our waiter was very attentive, he brought us delicious bowls of chicken noodle soup, then an excellent tossed salad with our choice of dressing, then came the main course. This was a huge disappointment, each dinner had four small dried out pieces of meatloaf complete with grill marks. My husband ordered mashed potato's and he got a huge scoop, they were dry looking and came with no gravy or butter. I had the french fry's, they were good and hot. Both dinners had cold mini fried onion rings.
By this time our waiter had completely disappearred, our drinks were empty, no refills in site, and a waitress we hadn't seen before brought us dessert to share. It was delicious, a mini-brownie with a small scoop of ice cream and whipped cream, and two spoons.
The diner plays very loud music while dining and seems busy.
Don't know if we'd try Mel's Diner again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Bad experience!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Contrary to my former positive review, this time is just the opposite. I have ordered the Mediterranean Chicken the last two times I visited Mel's and both times were very good. This time however, left a lot to be desired. The chicken was overdone and there was very little goat cheese on the spinach compared to the last two times. I asked for extra spinach in place of the rice which is normally served with this dish. When my plate arrived, there was the normal amount of spinach (which is not much by any means), and no rice. I asked the waitress it there was extra spinach. She had them cook some and brought it back to me. It was plain cooked spinach; no garlic and no goat cheese like what's served with the meal. My husband had fried scallops with fries and slaw. the scallops were not even brown (not cooked long enough and mushy), and the fries weren't up to par either. The waitress was just o.k. I've had better. Sorry to say this place is not consistent. I saw a couple of club sandwiches at other tables that looked wonderful. I guess we should stick to diner food when at a diner!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This place rocks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great service, huge portions, and best of all wonderful food. My boyfriend and I were worried when we saw the huge menus that the food would be less then great, but I got the salmon, he got the short ribs and both meals were the delicious comforting food these travelers needed! We went back the next day for breakfast and that too was equally impressive!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“back to the fifties”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My husband is a collector of Fifties items, so it was his idea to have diner at Mel's diner. I loved the food and the ambiance. We shared the best keylime lemon pie I had in a long time!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mel's Diner Fort Myers also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mel's Diner Fort Myers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mel's Diner Fort Myers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.