We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, handmade and yummy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mel's Diner Fort Myers

Mel's Diner Fort Myers
4820 S Cleveland Ave, Fort Myers, FL 33907-1320
239-275-7850
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 641 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fresh, handmade and yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Weve had the ribs, fish sandwich,cheeseburgers, salads (huge) All fantastic. It gets crowded quick but the service is faster than other places and the staff is overly accommodating. They all seem to love their job and plenty of regulars are joked with. This place is always entertaining.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    133
    40
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“An Excellent Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I spent a few days in Ft. Myers and were staying at the La Quinta Inn, next door to Mel's. The disk clerk said that the food was good and being hungry after a long ride to Ft. Myers, we decided to have lunch. We were not disappointed. Our food was tasty, plentiful and the price reasonable for the portion. The atmosphere is funky with a large Betty Boop greeting you at the entrance. Our waitress was excellent and very friendly. We returned the following afternoon with friends and we all had a very enjoyable lunch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Too Many People”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We went in for a take-out meal, was encouraged to take a seat, waited for 15 minutes for a server, served water, waiting for 5 minutes for the server to take our order, waiting long enough to say enough, paid for the soup I didn't order and the salad that I did need. $8.00 and 45 minutes. Don't Do It! Prices are too high! $8.00 for a cheeseburger and $2.00 for fries, why not a steak?

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Just Fair-Picture looks better than the Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Had the Ribeye, ordered it med-rare, came out med well. It was very thin, lots of fat, grizzle. Highly recommend trying something different next time, My wife had grilled Shrimp, she said were ok, but nowhere like the ones at Skip One Seafood for just about the same $$. Plenty of good restaurants in Ft Myers other than Mel's Diner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great atmosphere !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I thought we would try this place and it was great ! The food is excellent ! Large portions.. They have sweet potato fries.. And the key lime pie was super. Very friendly wait staff. The atmosphere is so 50's... They had an old Chevy (side of it) for a counter. Several pics of famous stars. Lots of 50's deco. Will definitely go back here !

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mel's Diner Fort Myers also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mel's Diner Fort Myers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mel's Diner Fort Myers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.