We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mel's Diner Fort Myers

Mel's Diner Fort Myers
4820 S Cleveland Ave, Fort Myers, FL 33907-1320
239-275-7850
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 673 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Good lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We enjoyed a great lunch here while visiting Fort Myers recently with friends. The decor in the restaurant is classic and the service was excellent. The food was classic diner fare and overall we enjoyed the lunch very much.....it was a classic, theme type restaurant, extensive menu with many different choices and our server had a great sense of humor. It was very crowded with locals who were also enjoying a reasonably priced lunch. It is located in the city without great views, but enjoyable decor to look at and many colorful locals that engage in conversation with you....it makes for an enjoyable and memorable experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    93
    34
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

While on vacation, we decided we needed a break and wanted breakfast "out." After reading several reviews on local restaurants, we decided to give Mel's a try. Mind you, this was on a Sunday morning! What were we thinking?

Well, we found Mel's and the parking lot was totally full, so we had to park in a nearby lot for a store that fortunately hadn't opened yet. We were hopeful that the full lot meant a good meal was waiting for us, but that we'd have a really long wait. So, to check out the wait time I went in to see just how bad it would be. The place was packed with about 6 people ahead of me. The gal at the counter said it would be about 5 minutes and I gave her my name. I must admit, I was very skeptical. Believe it or not, we were seated in about 5 minutes. Couldn't believe it!

This is a chain diner with tons of memorabilia decorating every possible spot throughout the restaurant. The menu has many choices for breakfast. Our orders included buckwheat pancakes and an egg platter with bacon, toast and Mel's potatoes. All were served quickly and were very hot. With such prompt service, I can see why we had only a 5 minute wait. The good news is that we never felt like we were rushed.

Our server Briana was wonderful! I was insistent that my knife had some leftover food on it, but she assured me it was an emblem from the silverware manufacturer. Later when I put on my glasses, I found she was absolutely right. She could have provided us with terrible service or had an attitude, but she didn't flinch. She was extremely polite, had a great sense of humor, and made light of it later during our meal saying I was one of many customers who thought the same.

Overall, this was a very good choice. I'd eat here again especially if Briana was our server!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

they had good food and plenty of it the price was not high and it is a very busy place thats how good they are

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Always a great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great food, super service. Atmosphere was very nice. Restaurant was clean. This was our second visit, and we will be back!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Nice place but unfortunately our server that night was terrible. She didn't get the order right and didn't come back to check on us. The lobster and steak combo was poor as the lobster tail was tiny and the "Filet Mignon" was so undercooked and fatty I couldn't eat it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mel's Diner Fort Myers also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mel's Diner Fort Myers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mel's Diner Fort Myers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.