We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and friendly atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sasse's

Sasse's
3651 Evans Ave, Fort Myers, FL 33901-8300
+1 239-278-5544
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 654 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of Fort Myers, Sasse’s is a casual cozy restaurant that features authentic Northern-Italian and European food, prepared to perfection in our wood burning oven.
Pittsfield
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were visiting Fort Meyers during spring training, and needed lunch before the game. We tried Sasse's on the basis of the Tripadvisor reviews, and were so glad we did! Don't be put off by the low key neighborhood, or the strip mall. When you enter the restaurant, you realize you are in the right place. The chef, and I'm pretty sure the owner, will greet you as you come in, and the servers will be sure to find you a comfortable and private table.

I was not a fan of the herbed butter, but the fresh tomato focaccia was very good. I ordered the chicken parm and my husband ordered the three cheese ravioli; both were outstanding. We eat out a lot, and often at Italian restaurants, and particularly the chicken parmigiana, was the best we've had yet, I also ordered the cucumber salad, and the dressing was light and full of flavor.

When we mentioned to our server that we were rushing and didn't have time for dessert, and that we were visitors to the city, our server brought out a plate of complementary brownies. They were chewy and chocolatey, and on the way out, the chef was sure to ask about our meal, and wish us a good day.

The only reason we're voting for only 4 stars, is the herbed butter was too strong, and our waitress was having a slow day, although very friendly and helpful. But we were thrilled with the food, the friendly service and comfortable atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    23
    2
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ft.Myers
Level Contributor
110 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“4 Gold stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This restaurant gets so much right. First off, even though there was just two of us we were seated
At a table for four away from the high traffic area without even having to ask. Thank you. There
Was an available menu for gluten free choices and I overheard a conversation and the willingness to construct a vegetarian meal. These are practices that make for customer loyalty. To see the chef out in clear view preparing the meal is another brave move . The food was good and well prepared. I was somewhat disappointed that the gluten free spaghetti was not available but that
must be a common problem in the restaurant business and the reason I didn't rate this restaurant with the highest rating.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
203 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Probably the finest food in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Let me begin by saying that my 5 stars are solely based on the quality of the food. The place isn't in the best area, and it isn't beautifully decorated, but maybe that is how they keep the prices reasonable. I would prefer fine food to fine chandeliers any day o the week.

My wife and I split the ravioli for a starter. It was cooked to perfection, and had a unique richness.
I had the braised short ribs which were nothing less than divine. Possibly the best tasting main dish I have had in my 6 years living in the area. My wife had some pasta with shrimp dish and she thought it was one of the best pasta dishes she had ever had. The portions are more than adequate. We had no room for desert. With a few glasses of wine and tip the bill was around $80. I will be back.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise for a Valentine's lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Shut out from dinner reservations at several first choices, including this one, we decided to have lunch out instead to celebrate Valentine's day. Choosing the special of the day, horseradish crusted salmon, we were pleased with the bread, "caesar like" salad, well prepared entrees and delicious panna cotta for desert, topped off with a "gift" of brownies to go with it, all for $10 plus the cost of desert. Made a point of how we wished the salmon to be cooked, and it was done as requested. Extremely pleasant wait staff added to the pleasure. Located in an unexpected location, but for those who live downtown in Ft. Myers, closer than many highly rated restaurants, which tend to be more suburban. Definitely will return for lunch and dinner, which appears to have a more extensive menu. My only recommendation to the owner is to think about closing off the "kitchen tasks" a bit more. It did not add to the atmosphere to watch the flatware being dried and stored and clean up happening, as was fully visible from my table, and the noise from it was disturbing. Sasse's is a "find" which I would recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

I found northern Italian fare in Fort Myers! I knew immediately when the owner/ chef stopped by our table he had a familiar accent... Europe!!! A superb dinner from salad to dessert... and salmon entree! I'll be back for sure as this is without a doubt the best dinner I've had since moving here for the winter!!!! My compliments to everyone!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sasse's also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sasse's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sasse's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.