We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food & Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sasse's

Sasse's
3651 Evans Ave, Fort Myers, FL 33901-8300
+1 239-278-5544
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 649 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: European, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of Fort Myers, Sasse’s is a casual cozy restaurant that features authentic Northern-Italian and European food, prepared to perfection in our wood burning oven.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Ate there on a busy Saturday night. We were greeted promptly & seated. The menu is not particularly extensive, but everyone should be able to find something to enjoy. The appetizers a frommage & a carpaccio were both very good. My entree was ahi tuna which was presented on a bed of risotto. It was perfectly cooked & the sauce enhanced the dish without overshadowing the tuna. My wife had the short ribs which also were delicious & served over the best mashed potatoes she has ever eaten. Meal was accompanied by an inexpensive but good bottle of Gavi. Dessert was a flourless chocolate cake which we both enjoyed. Price was very reasonable for the meal we had.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    58
    16
    2
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Terrific evening at Sasse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had a terrific evening at Sasse. As soon as we sat down my friend said "This is my kind of place". It's very cozy and the vibe is such that you feel you could be eating at someone's house. The new ower came by our table a few times during the course of the evening to ask how everything was and just to chat. It was a very nice touch and certainly makes you feel very special. The service is also very good. Our waitress was very good at explaining the different wines that they had available. We all had a glass of wine with our meal. My husband and I shared escargot as an appetizer. They came in the shell. The escargot were large and plump and we used the bread to scoop up the garlic butter. One of our friends opted for the fixed price menu so he started with a Caesar salad. For entrees our friends had linguine with scampi and arugula in a tomato based sauce. She said it was excellent and her plate was clean when she finished. Her husband's meal was a braised pork dish and he was also raving about his meal. My husband had the chicken. I believe it was cooked under a brick. It was so moist, tender and flavourful. Even the breast meat was tender. I had the beef short ribs and they also were melt in your mouth delicious. For dessert our friends shared his chocolate lava cake and my husband and I had the pumpkin cake. Prices are reasonable for the quality of food. Our friends 3 course meal was a reasonable $19.91

It was truly a wonderful evening. This restaurant is in a out of the way location but it is well worth the trip to find it. Put on your GPS and go.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“New owner/chef honors the past while adding creative new delights!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We recently attended the new owner's first wine maker dinner and enjoyed it tremendously. From the scallops to the lamb to the filet and chocolate cake, each course accompanied by a wonderful wine, it could not have been better. We were treated to explanation of each wine by the winemaker - just enough info to keep the evening lighthearted. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Incredibly good service and extremely delicious food and presented very well. I highly recommend this restaurant to everybody wishing to eat out

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus Co. Antrim Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
“"Worth a 6000 word review!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This was my husband's comment as he finished the sensational Veal Scallopini at Sasse's.
I was just as impressed with my Swordfish, which was the best I've ever eaten and came over a delicately flavoured risotto with green olives, artichokes and fried capers. When it arrived, it was such a feast for the eyes I wanted to photograph it.
By that stage though, we'd already decided that the bread alone would have been worth the visit. Baked in their wood fired oven and delicately flavoured with herbs, it had a beautiful texture and taste. We'd soon finished it and the waitress brought us another serving and some more dipping oil.

To say the food here is incredible, isn't just hype. This was one of the best meals we've had, anywhere. It's all freshly prepared so there's a bit of a wait after ordering, but it's great to watch the three chefs hard at work across the room and to have a view of their wood fired oven in use.
Wine by the glass was smooth and perfectly mellow and the amount was generous.
The service was excellent and our waitress was unobtrustive but attentive and friendly.
Residents of Fort Myers are lucky to have food of this calibre on the doorstep. And the miracle is, it is so reasonably priced. This is quality and authenticity rarely found at these prices.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sasse's also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sasse's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sasse's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.