We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of Newport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clam Bake

Clam Bake
16520 S Tamiami Trl Ste 10, Fort Myers, FL 33908-4521
(239) 482-1930
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 674 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A taste of Newport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Delicious fried clams (with bellies) and fried oysters. Reminded us of our years in Newport and our frequent Friday evening meals at Mack's Clam Shack. Place was packed which is testament to the quality and size of the meals. Well worth the indulgence in fried food every once in a while. The place is clean and crowded, so don't expect fine dining, but do expect Delicious food, cold beer, and friendly service. Glad I'm only visiting, otherwise I'd be eating way too much fried seafood.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    50
    16
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
connecticut
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Best Lobster Roll ... read on....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Love the cooking. The Lobster Roll is amazing, and we go to Maine all the time...these are better....please don't change them. They are generous with the Lobster. French Fries are amazingly good...not greasy. The soups are excellent. We love the 3.00 per glass wines during Happy Hour which runs from 3pm to 6pm. Husband loves the Haddock lunch special. Honey mustard dressing is great. The happy hour also has half off appetizers! We love the stuffed mushrooms, in a natural broth. The ambiance is nice, large open dining room. Really the best seafood....The happy hour makes it affordable...people really pile in fast.... The best steamers I have ever had...these come with a bucket for shells...enjoy a seafood night out...the food is cooked to perfection with quality ingredients.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Seafood at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We just had our 3rd visit here and the food is always good and always fresh. We are from New England and we know great seafood. The service is always friendly and they are helpful with the menu. It is not fancy but the atmosphere is clean and bustling. We will continue to come back again and again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“perfect celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had a group of 4 and made a request ahead of time for 3lb lobsters. Also did 2 pots of mussels, clams, shrimp, haddock, potatoes, corn, & sausage. They were perfect, service was top notch. We brought our on wine, small corkage fee, well worth it to have our own wine. Would recommend the Clam Bake for any occasion. The restaurant has a nice open feeling, it was packed but we never had any sense of chaos. I must say a nicely run restaurant. Family owned and the staff if awesome.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Back again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I think we're in line to be regulars here. This time we tried the fish (very lightly battered and perfectly cooked) and chips (fat and crisp) and the shrimp stuffed with crabmeat (also cooked perfectly -- shrimp not overdone and crab moist) with coleslaw (very fresh and lightly dressed). The only disappointment was the Rhode Island style (clear broth) clam chowder, tasty but mostly big pieces of potato and cost a surprising $5.99. That item aside, the value was very good, the serving sizes appropriate (I don't want a doggie bag, ever), and the service effective and cheerful.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clam Bake also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Clam Bake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clam Bake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.