We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Evening Casual seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market

Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market
13451 - 16 McGregor Blvd, Fort Myers, FL 33919
(239) 489 - 2226
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 649 restaurants in Fort Myers
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Cape Coral, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Evening Casual seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stopped in the Pawnbroker after hearing many comments- all positive. Started with Chowder..served at a perfect temperature with plenty of clams and vegetables, Seafood Platter came next accompanied by a fresh crispy salad...seafood was broiled lightly in butter to a fantastic result. The baked potato was cooked perfectly and balanced off the seafood. My partner tried the fried grouper to rave reviews. Great seafood at reasonable prices..

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    119
    70
    20
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“First experience , just terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Went out on a first date with a new friend.She suggested this eatery.
Great choice she had the gulf lobster, and I asked our waiter JIMMY. for a suggestion. And he said they just received their order of soft shell crab. The crabs were huge! Veggies were fresh and they were just fabulous cooked to perfection
Only one complaint the steak you could add for $5 wasn't very tender rather chewy.
Our server jimmy was terrific. I do not mind if meals are a little pricy if its worth it. Not like the clambake, lobster Lady who are pricy and do not have good food , nor good professional servers
Besides the first date went very well.very well. :) <•{{{{{<

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a quiet atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Fresh local seafood, lobsters flown in when necessary, quiet elegant atmosphere. Very good service, daily specials including early bird price breaks, very complete menu featuring meat-and-potatoes style meals as well as their signature seafood. Portions are huge; you may be asking for a take-home carton.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our 1st visit to Fort Myers Fla. we saw Prawnbrokers and decided to eat dinner there. I ordered the broiled scallops. Those were the best scallops in Fla. I have ever had. When we go back, we will make a point of having dinner there again. It's a clean, pleasant restaurant with a nice atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eatonton, Georgia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Dinner with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Have heard. Oohing but good things about the food at The Prawnbroker. Proved to be true. Reservation for the table they wanted was perfect. Not overly crowded but it is summer. Baked oyster appetizer was excellent topped with Parmesan cheese and a zesty lemon basting. Haddock stuffed with carb meat for the entree was delicious. Pleasantly surprised that the house Chardonnay was by tasty and at a reasonable $5.25 per 8 ounce pour. The atmosphere is a. It lacking. The place is quite large. Our server was very pleasant and attentive. Her presentation skills could use some work as she passed and handed items over people as opposed to offering the dishes to each individual. Others had the fried oysters which were plentiful and juicy. We had been to the new Skip One with the same people a week ago where they had their fried oysters. Prawnbroker's were far superior. We'll go back. They do take reservations. A must "in season".

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.